The Modern Middle East: A Sourcebook for History


The Modern Middle East is a collection of translated sources covering the period from 1700 to the present. Sources include official and private archives, the periodical press, memoirs, western journalists' and travellers' accounts, literature, and official reports (including statistical data). Each document has been prefaced, translated and annotated by a specialist in the particular history and culture from which it was drawn. Enough information is provided so that every student can appreciate the value of a document and begin a further exploration either of its specific historical context or its relationship to broader themes in modern Middle Eastern history, whilst scholars will find it of value for its use in teaching and discussion.

Additional information

Includes content by:
  • Mark L. Stein
  • George Bournoutian
  • Ali Akyıldız
  • M. Şükrü Hanioğlu
  • Robert G. Landen
  • Mark L. Stein
  • George Bournoutian
  • Ali Akyıldız
  • M. Şükrü Hanioğlu
  • Robert G. Landen
  • Paul Sedra
  • Monica Ringer
  • Benjamin C. Fortna
  • David Yaghoubian
  • Guido Steinberg
  • Cyrus Schayegh
  • Ellen L. Fleischmann
  • Camron Michael Amin
  • Indira Falk Gesink
  • Adeeb Khalid
  • Palmira Brummett
  • Michael Laffan
  • Matthew Elliot
  • Cyrus Kadivar
  • Jahanshah Javid
  • Gail Minault
  • Sarah Gualtieri
  • Weldon C. Matthews
  • Mona Russell
  • Carole Woodall
  • Ryme Seferdjeli
  • Steve Tamari
  • Ernest Tucker
  • Nelida Fuccaro
  • Danny Ben-Moshe
  • Juan R. I. Cole
  • Frederick Anscombe
  • Thomas Eich
  • Barak Salmoni
  • Renée Worringer
  • Houri Berberian
  • A. Holly Shissler
  • Abigail Jacobson
  • Moshe Gershovich
  • Karen M. Kern
  • NazanÇiçek
  • Brian Glyn Williams
  • Susan Waltz
  • Ronald R. Stockton
  • Shirine Hamadeh
  • Halil Abrahim Erbay
  • Eden Naby
  • Paul E. Losensky
  • Flagg Miller
  • Ulrike Freitag
  • Michael Twomey
  • Shireen Mahdavi
  • Ali M. Ansari
Publisher: Place of publication:
  • New York
Publication year:
  • 2006