19th Advertising Congress Starts in Cebu Today

Article excerpt


CEBU CITY a" Some 2,500 delegates from various advertising, media and government firms nationwide will gather today at the Waterfront Hotel in Lahug here for the start of the 19th Philippine Advertising Congress.

Ayala Corp. President and Chief Executive Officer Jaime Augusto Zobel de Ayala will keynote the four-day congress where he will sell "Brand Philippines" before local and international audiences.

This yearas assembly carries the theme "Ready for the World?!" The ambiguous punctuation marks underscore either the pervading doubt or the readiness of the local advertising industry to take on the best in the world.

Hosted by the Advertising Suppliers Association of the Philippines (ASAP) and the Marketing and Opinion Research Society of the Phils., Inc. (MORES), the biennial Ad Congress is expected to see a mix of foreign and local speakers from renowned advertising agencies and internationally acclaimed businesses.

Plenary sessions covering topics on brands, globalization, consumer issues and the latest product advances will be conducted by a panel of discussants, who include Emily Abrera of McCann; Peter Wallace of Wallace Business Forum; Michelle KristulaGreen of Leo-Burnett AsiaPacific; Mike Amour of Grey Global Group; and Ding Salvador of Lamoiyan Corp.

Also on the panel are Kitti Chaiyaporn of Publicis Thailand; Prasoon Joshi of McCann South and Southeast Asia; Jamie Lord of Mindshare AsiaPacific; David Flack of MTV Asia-Pacific; Gregory Ho of AXN Asia-Pacific; and Rupert Howell of McCann Worldgroup. The sessions will be moderated by Ricky Carandang of the ABS-CBN News Channel.

At least nine breakout sessions on the creative, brand/research and media aspects of advertising will also be held in the morning of the second day of the Ad Congress.

Among the speakers in these sessions are John Merrifield of TBWA Japan; Anand Raj of TNS Trends; Ariel Haroush of Outform Media; Mon Lizardo of INQ7; Dennis Mendiola of Chikka; Ben Colayco of Level-Up; Raul Castro, Carmen Antunez, Pam Garcia and Viboy Palilio of Lowe; Tina Tinio of Shu Uemura; Nita Carvajal of BPI; Chris Nelson of Philip Morris Phils. …