AFM Musicians Award Recognition

Article excerpt

Gemini Awards: The 24th Annual Gemini Awards, which recognize the best in Canadian Television programming, were held in Calgary, Alberta, November 14 and recognized several AFM members for their contributions to the musical aspect of TV shows.

Winners included: Daniel Séguín of Local 145 (Vancouver, BC) for Best Original Music Score for a Documentary Program or Series for his work on The Wild Horse Redemption; Michael Richard Plowman of Local 145 won the award for Best Original Music Score for a Dramatic Program, Mini-Series or TV Movie for Impact; Robert Carli of Local 149 (Toronto, ON) won the award for Best Original Music Score for a Program or Series for the episode "Werewolves" from the Murdoch Mysteries; and Best Original Music Score for an Animated Program or Series was also awarded to Plowman for Jibber Jabber "Race to the Red Planet" and "Pride of Frankenstein."

United States Artists Fellows: On December 14 the national artists' advocacy organization United States Artists (USA) announced the recipients of 50 USA Fellowship $50,000 grants for artistic excellence. That list included two AFM members: Ella Jenkins of Local 10-208 (Chicago, IL) and Lionel Loueke of Local 802 (New York City).

Jenkins, called the "The First Lady of the Children's Folk Song" by the Wisconsin State Journal, has been a leader in the children's music scene for more than 50 years. She won a Grammy Association Lifetime Achievement Award in 2004.

Guitarist Loueke, from the small West African country of Benin, attended the Berklee College of Music and the prestigious Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz in Los Angeles. Loueke tours with Local 802 member Herbie Hancock's quartet and has recorded two albums under his own name.

In 2009, USA dispensed $10 million in the form of Fellowship grants directly into the hands of America's most innovative artists. USA launched in September 2005 with $22 million in seed funding provided by a coalition of leading foundations-Ford, Rockefeller, Prudential, and Rasmuson. …