Other MLA Awards. (Notes for Notes)

Article excerpt

Other MLA Awards. The Walter Gerboth Award was presented to John F. Anderies (Music Librarian, Haverford College) for his project "Tri-College Digital Music Initiative: Developing a Core Integrated Collection." The committee summarized the overall goal of this project: "to bring together music information objects in a digital library environment, so that music faculty and students of three small colleges of the Tri-Co consortium (Haverfond, Swarthmore and Bryn Mawr Colleges) would have access to a core digital music repertoire both on site and remotely." A core music collection will be identified for digitization and out-of-box digital reserve software will be evaluated in order to digitize the content of various music formats and connect them digitially. The project is unique in that it is geared toward small academic libraries. Anderies holds an M.L.S. from Indiana University, an M.A. in music from Case Western Reserve University, and has completed Ph.D. coursework in musicology at Indiana University. The Walter Gerboth Award is offered to members of the association who are in the first five years of their professional library careers, to assist research-in-progress in music or music librarianship.

This year there were two recipients of the Dena Epstein Award for Archival and Library Research in American Music. In his research on "The New York School in Performance--The Need for Further Instructions," Clemens Gresser will study works of the New York School composers (Earle Brown, John Cage, Morton Feldman, and Christian Wolff) written between 1950 and 1970. …