A National Model for Inter-Institutional Postbaccalaureate Distance Education Programs

Article excerpt

A project led by the Great Plains Interactive Distance Education Alliance funded by the Learning Anywhere Anytime Partnership Program

Co-Directors: Virginia Moxley, Associate Dean/Professor, Department of Human Ecology, Kansas State University and Sue Maes, Senior Development Officer, Regents Education Communication Center, Kansas State University.

Institution Partners: Kansas State University, Iowa State University, Montana State University, North Dakota State University, Oklahoma State University, Texas Tech University, South Dakota State University, University of Nebraska.

We are pleased to announce the eight universities alliance led by Kansas State University received one of ten 2000 Learning Anywhere Anytime Partnership Awards from the U.S. Department of Education. The three-year project was funded for $1,073,779. Dr. Janet Poley, ADEC president, worked with the development of this project on behalf of the consortium. ADEC featured some of the outstanding work of the Great Plains Interactive Distance Education Alliance (IDEA) on our recent IDEAL2 National Videoconference, http://caheinfo.wsu.edu/ ADEC/adec1.html.

The goal is to produce high quality distance education programs while enabling universities to manage costs, student services, faculty support, and intellectual property rights. Meeting student expectations involves providing systematic access to programs, fostering recruitment and retention, and accommodating special needs of disabled and rural learners. Policy and practice infrastructure should level the playing field across institutions, recoup course development costs, and provide secure, efficient, management of student records.

Poley will serve as a member of the project advisory board along with Wayne Paterson, Senior Fellow at the Council of Graduate Schools; Jim Mingle, Past-Executive Director, State Higher Education Executive Officers; Bruce Chaloux, Southern Regional Education Board Distance Learning Policy Laboratory; Dennis Jones, President of National Center for Higher Education Management Systems; Sue Maes, Past-President of University Continuing Education Association; Elizabeth Unger, Vice Provost for Academic Services and Technology and Dean of Continuing Education at Kansas State University and coordinator of the student services component of the WICHE LAAP project. …