2002-2003 MTNA Student Competitions National Winners

Article excerpt

Student Composition Competition

Sponsored by Warner Bros. Publications, Inc. Elementary

Gabrielle Nina Haigh, of Cleveland Heights, Ohio, is a sixth-grade student at Laurel School. Gabrielle currently studies with Mary Ann Griebling. Her compositions have consistently earned first place at the MTNA state and division levels since 2000. In the MTNA national competitions, she received second place in 2000 and an honorable mention in 2001. In addition, Gabrielle has earned honors through composition competitions with the National Federation of Music Clubs, most recently attaining first place in Ohio.


Second Place: Douglon Tse, Eastern Division (Massachusetts); Alla Elana Cohen, teacher

Third Place: Jade Adele Conlee, Southwest Division (Utah); Janice Pyper and Jaiming Chen, teachers

Junior High School

Alexander John Moran, of Newfields, New Hampshire, is in the seventh grade at Exeter Cooperative Middle School. Alec studies composition at The New England Conservatory (NEC) Preparatory School with Alla Elana Cohen. His compositions have won numerous awards including an honorable mention from the ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards in 2002 and first place in the 2001 New Hampshire MTA elementary composition competition. Alec also has had compositions played at the NEC Preparatory School's Contemporary Music Festival.


Second Place: Leigh West Alan, West Central Division (Colorado); Ruth O'Neal, teacher

Third Place: Alex Kreger, East Central Division (Wisconsin); Carol A. Klose, teacher

High School

First Place: Not awarded.

Second Place: Wendy Jin, West Central Division (Minnesota); Dorothy Sandquist, teacher

Third Place: Roger Zare, Southern Division (Florida); Sandra F. Lawler, teacher


Felipe Lara, of Revere, Massachusetts, is a student of Alla Elana Cohen at the New England Conservatory (NEC). A graduate of the Berklee College of Music, he is a candidate for graduate study at Harvard, Tufts or Boston University. He plans to continue studying with Cohen at the NEC. He has composed music for a variety of mediums, including orchestral, choral, chamber and solo, as well as film scores. While at Berklee, he won the Youth Concerts at Symphony Hall Award.


Second Place: Carlo Vincetti Frizzo, South Central Division (Louisiana); Dinos Constantinides, teacher

Third Place: J. Adam Burnette, Southern Division (Georgia); Peter Dewitt, teacher

MTNA Junior High School Performance Competitions

MTNA Junior High School Brass Competition, sponsored by Conn-Selmer, Inc.

Kurt Riecken, of Maitland, Florida, is in the ninth grade at Winter Park Ninth Grade Center. He studies trombone with Eric Mendez. Kurt is active in the Winter Park High School Marching Band and Park Philharmonic, and the Winter Park Wind Ensemble. He is a member of the Florida Youth Symphony Orchestra. In 2002, Kurt received the John Phillip Sousa Band Award and the Dawn Wurster Band Award, and has been named to the All-State Band and All-State Orchestra several times.


Second Place: Rebecca Gruskin, West Central Division (Minnesota); Sarah Schmalenberger, teacher

Third Place: Charles Peck, Eastern Division (Delaware); Cynthia Carr, teacher

MTNA Junior High School Piano Competition, sponsored by Baldwin Piano Company

Alexander Lue, of Richardson, Texas, attends Apollo Junior High School. He studies piano with Samuel Wong. Alexander received the Texas Commission on the Arts 2002 Young Masters Scholarship. As a guest soloist, he performed at the Texas Tour Artists banquet and has performed with the Piano Symphony Orchestra in a concert series. Alexander performed as guest soloist with Orquesta Filamonica de la Universidad de Lima and a solo recital at the Fourth Bela Bartok International Piano Festival in Lima, Peru. …