Awards & Prizes

Article excerpt

John Guare and Craig Lucas earned this year's PEN/Laura Pels Foundation Awards for Drama. Guare, who was named a master American dramatist, will receive a specially commissioned artwork and Lucas, honored as a mid-career playwright, a $5,000 stipend.



Only three Guggenheim Fellowships, of 184, recognized drama and performance art this year. New York--based puppeteer and artistic director of the Mettawee River Theatre Company Ralph Lee won for an as-yet-undescribed theatre piece. New York--based playwrights Susan Miller (My Left Breast) and Jonathan Reynolds (Fighting International Fat) both hooked the fellowship for playwriting.

Victor Lodato, a Guggenheim recipient last year, this year garnered Williamstown Theatre Festival's L. Arnold Weissberger Award for his play Motherhouse. Lodato will pocket $5,000, and the script will be published by Samuel French and have a reading by the Williamstown Theatre Festival in the 2003 season.

Librettist Susan DiLallo (Once Upon a Time in New Jersey) and lyricist Nell Benjamin (Sarah, Plain and Tall) snapped up the Kleban Awards for musical theatre, administered by New Dramatists. Each will receive $100,000, payable over two years.

Chicago director Adam Belcuore is the first recipient of the Mike Ockrent Fellowship in Musical Theatre, a new initiative by the Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation to aid early-career directors. Belcuore will be mentored by Harold Prince on the upcoming Bounce at the Goodman Theatre.

The Spencer Cherashore Fund bestowed artistic development grants upon actors Karen Kandel, Brian MacVittie, Rosalba Rolon and Ching Valdes-Aran. An award for Lifetime Dedication to Not-for-Profit Theatre went to Alvin Epstein.

The Robert Chesley Foundation (named for the author of Jerker, the first play about AIDS to be staged in the U.S.) lifetime achievement in playwriting honorees: Rev. Al Carmines and H.M. Koutoukas. Both were pioneers in both the Off-Off Broadway theatre movement and gay and lesbian theatre.

The College of Fellows of the American Theatre added playwright Julie Jensen; director and educator Jon Jory; actress, writer and educator Barbara Reid; lighting designer and educator Peter E. …