Arroyo Honors 10 Top Youth Groups, Cites Vital Role in Nation-Building

Article excerpt


President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo yesterday honored the countrys Ten Accomplished Youth Organizations (TAYO) for proving once more the relevance of youth power in nation-building

The President led the awarding ceremonies at the Heroes Hall in Malacanang for the best and brightest youth clubs of the nation, a culmination of the second search for TAYO, a joint initiative of Senate Majority leader Francis Pangilinan and the National Youth Commission (NYC).

A distinguished panel of judges, headed by NYC Chair Paolo Benigno Bam Aquino IV and Sen. Francis Pangilinan interviewed the representatives of the 20 finalists belonging to the top five organizations from Luzon, the Visayas, Mindanao and the National Capital Region.

The youth organizations were judged on the basis of recent programs and projects that have impacts on the community.

Aquino said judges looked into indicators of social mobilization, innovation, creativity, and sustainability and the probability of having the project replicated in other communities.

The 10 winners in this years TAYO search, which were given R50,000 each for future projects of the organization and trophies specially designed by sculptor Toym de Leon Imao, are the Students Association of Management Accountants (SAMA) of the Mariano Marcos State University in Laoag City; Sugbuanong Pundok Aron Sugpuon and Child Abuse (SUPACA) of Cebu City; Musical Dramatics Society of Sta. …