De la Salle University - Health Sciences Campus: Nurturing People through Healing, Teaching and Research

Article excerpt


In 1964, a group of young doctors/ consultants from the College of Medicine of the University of the Philippines and the Philippine General Hospital decided to put up a hospital. On August 15, 1967, Medical Center Manila was inaugurated. The group, which then grew to about 150, was aware of the need for a well-trained support staff so, they ventured into education, initially involving paramedical personnel. In 1976, a decision to put up a medical school was reached. In consonance with the government policy of dispersing educational facilities outside the capital city and encouraging the establishment of medical schools in various regions of the country, they decided to establish a medical school in Dasmarinas, Cavite. The campus chosen was near the resettlement areas.

In 1977, the University Physicians Foundation, Inc. was organized to take care of the establishment and management of the medical school in Dasmarinas, Cavite. In June 1979, the Emilio Aguinaldo College of Medicine opened with the Jose P. Rizal National Medical Research Center as its initial teaching hospital. In 1980, an agreement was signed with the Ministry of Health to allow the school to utilize the Andres Bonifacio Memorial Hospital as affiliate hospital for the teaching of medical and paramedical students. In the same year, the foundation acquired 1.2 hectares of additional property. The construction of a 180-bed teaching hospital then followed. This four-storey hospital, the University Medical Center, was inaugurated on July 31, 1982. In 1985, the construction of the second fourstorey Medical Research Building for the College of Medicine started.

In June 1987, the ownership and management of the Emilio Aguinaldo College of Medicine and the University Medical Center was acquired by the De La Salle University. The College of Medicine was renamed the De La Salle University-Emilio Aguinaldo College of Medicine and the hospital the De La Salle University Medical Center.

In 1990, the Wu Building (the second building of the De La Salle University Medical Center) wasinaugurated.

Later, in 1992, the college was renamed the De La Salle University College of Medicine. On April 7, 1994, the DLSUAngelo King Medical Research Center was established. In June of the same year, the College of Physical Therapy, which was still part of DLSUAguinaldo (now DLSU-Dasmarinas 1996) then was transferred to the institution. By June 1995, the complex consisting of the College of Medicine, University Medical Center, College of Physical Therapy and Research Services was named De La Salle University - Health Sciences Campus, DLSU-HSC, (St. Br. Miguel Febres Cordero Medical Education Foundation)

In 1996, the construction of the 10-storey Teodorica Favis Vda. De Rivero Hall, an annex of the University Medical Center, and the one-storey Jose Sotto Tantiansu Cancer Institute was started. The Rivero Hall became operational in August 1997 and the Cancer Institute in 1998. On January 1999, the Institute of Continuing Education for the Health Professionals (formerly the Institute of Graduate Studies) was established.

In October 1999 and July 2003, the De La Salle University Medical Center gained the distinction of being the first hospital in the Philippines to be awarded an ISO 9001 Certification and a certifi cation by the TUVRheinland Berlin-Brandenburg Group of Companies, respectively.

In May 2000, the Colleges of Medical Radiation Technology and Nursing and Midwifery (formerly under the De La Salle University Dasmarinas) were transferred to the DLSU-Health Sciences Campus.

The De La SalleHealth and Sciences Campus continuously nurtures people through healing, teaching and research.


The DLSU-Health Sciences Campus occupies an eighthectare lot in Dasmarinas, Cavite. It is approximately 32 kilometers south of Manila and a kilometer away from the Dasmarinas town proper. …