Rewarding Excellence: ACA Awards Recognize Exceptional Commitment; Heroes Are a Rare Breed. but Corrections Seems to Have More Than Its Share of Them-Men and Women Who Are Exemplary Leaders in a Demanding Profession. Seize This Opportunity to See Their Hard Work and Integrity Rewarded

Article excerpt

Each year at the American Correctional Association's (ACA) Winter Conference, four distinguished awards are presented to honor outstanding corrections professionals. The awards, presented by the president, honor exemplary leader-ship and service as they recognize corrections' stars.

Nowhere will you find more courageous and deserving people than those nominated for ACA's Medal of Valor. Anyone in corrections who is recommended by one or more people for an act of extraordinary bravery performed in the time frame outlined on the nomination form is eligible for this award.

The Peter P. Lejins Research Award honors an association member who has made research strides that have led to a significant contribution to corrections. It is presented in honor of Professor Emeritus Peter P. Lejins, an ACA past president and distinguished correctional researcher.

Because education is an invaluable resource, ACA presents the Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship Award each year to a minority recipient attending an institution of higher education. Any ACA member may recommend to the ACA Awards Committee individuals from disadvantaged backgrounds who have demonstrated a need and a willingness to continue their college education or graduate training related to a career in the criminal justice field.

The Outstanding Journalism Award recognizes the editor or news director of a media outlet who has done a commendable job in the past year of increasing public knowledge about corrections. The award is open to professional journalists of all categories and may encompass any area of corrections.

Entry Rules

Entries for ACA awards should include the following information:

* The official nomination form.

* A summary addressing each award criterion, not to exceed three pages, single-spaced. Please remember to submit only three pages--this rule will be strictly enforced. Since the Awards Committee will be looking for superior performance in the criteria noted on the entry form, it will help your case to organize the presentation around those criteria.

* One set of relevant supporting documentation.

Please note that some awards require information in addition to these general criteria as outlined on the nomination form. All entries must be complete to be considered for an award, so please review all criteria before submitting an entry. Because of the volume of entries received. ACA is unable to return entries or supporting documentation unless requested. All entries must be received at ACA by June 1.

For additional information and details on specific awards see the following award nomination forms or call Debbi Seeger at (301) 918-1802; e-mail;

Don't let an exceptional job or commitment to corrections go unrecognized--send in your nomination(s) today.

2004 Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship Award Nomination

This award is presented in memory of the late Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. to commemorate his belief that progress is best achieved through cooperation rather than conflict, participation rather than partisanship, and compassion and understanding rather than hatred and prejudice.

The scholarship is awarded to minority nominees who have demonstrated a need and a willingness to continue an educational mission toward a college education or graduate training related to a career in the criminal justice field. An ACA member may recommend nominations to the ACA Committee on Correctional Awards. Members, patrons and friends are invited to annually contribute to the fund for this scholarship.

Nominees need not be ACA members; however, nomination packages must include proof of application to, acceptance by, or current attendance at an undergraduate or graduate program of a four-year college. Nominations also must provide proof of financial need and academic achievement and demonstrate commitment to the principles of Dr. …