Surigao del Sur Polytechnic State College; Carving a Name in the Map of Higher Education

Article excerpt

In 1982, the Bukidnon State College of Malaybalay, Bukidnon under the leadership of then President Jaime Gellor opened its extension in Tandag known as the Bukidnon State College External Studies Center. With Rufma Luna as College coordinator, the extension had the Jacinto P. Elpa High School as the venue for its classes. Its college instructors then were paid only honorarium. There were only 153 pioneering students when it opened in school year 1982-1983.


Ten years later, on October 10, 1992, Representatives Mario Serra Ty and Ernesto Estrella of the 1st and 2nd District of Bukidnon, respectively, filed a bill - which was later approved by then President Corazon C. Aquino as Republic Act 7377 - converting the Bukidnon State College into the Surigao del Sur Polytechnic College. This newly created college integrated as its satellite campuses the Cagwait School of Arts and Trades in the Municipality of Cagwait, the Tago River Valley Institute of Agriculture in the Municipality of Tago, the Surigao del Sur Institute of Fisheries in the Municipality of Lianga and the Tagbina-Barobo National High School in the Municipality of Tagbina, all in the province of Surigao del Sur.

On April 23, 1998, R.A. 8628 was approved, converting the Surigao del Sur Polytechnic College into the SURIGAO DEL SUR POLYTECHNIC STATE COLLEGE (SSPSC). Dr. Antonio Ang served as the first president of SSPSC.

The Surigao del Sur Polytechnic State College in Tandag, Surigao del Sur.In 2000, the Surigao del Sur Institute of Technology (SSIT) in Cantilan, Surigao del Sur was integrated into SSPSC, making it the fifth satellite pursuant to the Board of Trustees Resolution No. 34 series of 2000. Also, that year, the Board approved Resolution No 05, series of 2000, allowing the offering of five engineering courses at the SSPSC Main, namely, Civil, Mechanical, Agricultural and Computer, and Electronics and Communications Engineering.

The following year marked another milestone in the history of SSPSC. The unexpected retirement of then president Ang paved the way for the search committee to undertake a painstaking selection process, which eventually led to the selection of a lady president, Dr. Remegita Olvida, whose appointment was confirmed by the BOT pursuant to its Resolution No. 114 series of 2001.

In 2003, the BOT unanimously approved a new term of president Olvida, pursuant to BOT Resolution No. 38b, series of 2003.

SSPSC stands proud that it garnered Level 1 candidate status during the 2005 First Survey Visit conducted by the Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities of the Philippines (AACCUP). Its main campus in Tandag, Surigao del Sur, and the SSPSC Cantilan painstakingly underwent the accreditation process on July 3-7 and November 23-25,2005, respectively. Both have successfully passed the accreditation with flying colors.

The year 2005 was a remarkable year to SSPSC. That year, Commission on Higher Education (CHED) Commissioner and then Chairman of the SSPSC BOT Hon. Carlito Puno lauded the institution as the best in Caraga Region and one of the best in the Philippines during the turnover ceremony held at the Inland Resort in Butuan City. The unprecedented statement of Commissioner Puno, now the CHED chairman left an indelible mark to SSPSCeans, as brought about by the strong leadership of president Olvida and the collaborative efforts of all SSPSC personnel.

Recently, Congressman Prospero Pichay, Jr. filed House Bill No. 2544 which seeks to convert SSPSC into a State University.

Awaiting for its conversion into a State University, SSPSC hopes for a bright future as it faces multifarious challenges in placing its name in the map of higher education.


Today, the Surigao del Sur Polytechnic State College, including its five satellite campuses, has a population of more than 6,000 students from only 153 in 1982. …