NWF Names Public Servants Award Winners

Article excerpt

Thomas L. Warren, Fort Carson, Colorado, was re-elected to a second one-year term as Chair at NWF's Annual Meeting in March.

Warren was first elected to NWF's Board of Directors as Region 10 Director in 1989. Previously, he was an active volunteer for the Colorado Wildlife Federation from 1983-1995.

"The entire NWF staff is grateful to Tom for the extraordinary efforts he has made in the past year as NWF Chair," says NWF President William W. Howard. "His work with the Federation's board and staff is helping to set NWF on a course that will take it into the next century as a vibrant, powerful and responsive citizens conservation group that will truly continue to make a difference in this nation's conservation of natural resources," Howard says.

A native of eastern Kentucky and a Professional Wildlife Biologist certified by The Wildlife Society, Warren is the Director of the Directorate of Environmental Compliance and Management for the Department of the Army at Fort Carson, Colorado. In that position, he is responsible for all environmental and natural resource management and stewardship programs for Army activities in a nine-state region.

Delegates Elect

Three New

Board Members

Delegates at NWF's 60th annual meeting elected three new directors:

* Stephen E. Petron, Manchester, New Hampshire, a professional environmental scientist and President of the New Hampshire Wildlife Federation. * Allen W. Guisinger, Redmond, Washington. (See brief biography on page 54.) * Jerome C. Ringo, Founder and President of Progressive Resources, Inc. from Lake Charles, Louisiana.

NWF Names

Public Servants

Award Winners

This year, in a special celebration, NWF honored only individuals and or organizations in the public sector. In a year marked by increased antagonism and frequent official indifference, NWF wanted to show its appreciation to those who work daily in the name of conservation.

Award winners were:

* Linda S. Birnbaum, EPA scientist, who is one of the nation's leading dioxin experts and a key player in the EPA's ongoing reassessment of this chemical and its endocrine-disrupting effects. * Hector Ibarra, science teacher at West Branch Middle School, West Branch, Iowa, for his creative instruction in the values of energy conservation and environmental sustainability. * Mollie H. Beattie, Director of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, for her ability to find common ground in natural resource discussions and her unshakable commitment to protecting and enhancing the nation's legacy of wildlife and other natural resources. …