National Finalists Announced in Monetary Policy Challenge

Article excerpt

14 August 2008

The Reserve Bank announced today the six secondary schools that have made it through to the national final of the 2008 Monetary Policy Challenge (MPC).

All national finalists were selected from 52 schools that competed in regional finals from 4 August to 12 August 2008. Regional finals were held in Auckland, Hamilton, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin. Two economists from the Reserve Bank were judges.

The national finalists are: Westlake Boys' High School and Diocesan School for Girls from the Auckland regional final; Hillcrest High School from the Waikato regional final; Scots College from the Wellington regional final; Christchurch Girls' High School from the Christchurch regional final; and Columba College from the Southern Regional regional final. All winning team members receive a $50 book voucher and certificate in recognition of their achievement.

Judges were impressed with the level of comprehension each winning team demonstrated in their written submission and oral presentation. "Their ability to take the economic theory they had learned in the classroom and apply it to a real-world situation took a great deal of skill," they commented.

The MPC is designed to expand senior secondary school economics students' understanding of monetary policy and links to NCEA achievement standards. …