Armed Forces of the Philippines Celebrates 73rd Anniversary

Article excerpt

THE Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) traces its beginnings to the Tejeros Convention in 1897 when the revolutionary government of General Emilio F. Aguinaldo created the Philippine Army under Captain General Artemio Ricarte.This Army was the off-shoot of the Revolutionary Forces, which took arms against the Spanish Government from August 30, 1896, to December 10, 1898, when the treaty of Paris was entered into by the United States of America and Spain. The same Army engaged the Americans in the hostilities between the Philippines and the United States which began on the night of February 4, 1899, and lasted up to September 25, 1903, when the last of Filipino Generals, General Simeon Ola, surrendered to the Americans.

After the Filipino-American war, the country's armed forces were organized through the promulgation of the National Defense Act in 1935 which created the Philippine Army, with an Off-Shore Patrol and Army Air Corps as its major components. The Philippine Constabulary was then existing under the Department of Interior. The Philippine Army became the Armed Forces of the Philippines on December 23, 1950, with four major services namely, the Philippine Army, the Philippine Air Force, the Philippine Navy, and the Philippine Constabulary. …