Members Choose Nevarez as Next APHA President: Three Executive Board Members, Vice Presidents Also Named

Article excerpt

CARMEN Nevarez, MD, MPH, will be APHA's next president, Association members decided in October. The Association's Governing Council elected Nevarez--vice president of external relations and preventive medicine advisor at the Public Health Institute--as APHA president-elect during its session at the 136th APHA Annual Meeting in San Diego. Nevarez is a former member of APHA's Executive Board and served as vice president of APHA's Latino Caucus. Nevarez will serve one year as APHA president-elect before assuming the presidency at the close of the 137th APHA Annual Meeting, which will be held Nov. 7-11 in Philadelphia.

In other elections, Kenneth Olden, PhD, ScD, LHD, was elected vice president for the United States; Mirta Roses Periago, MD, was elected vice president for Latin America and the Caribbean; and Cory Neudorf, MD, FRCPC, MHSc, was elected vice president for Canada. The Governing Council additionally elected three Executive Board members: Diane Conti; Joseph Telfair, DrPH, MPH, MSW; and Susan West Maramagas, MPH.

Governing Council members also elected three new members to the APHA Nominating Committee, which develops the slate of candidates for APHA's annual elections. The new members are Nonceba Lubanga, MPH, RN; Kathleen Miner, PhD, MPH; and Elizabeth Zelazek, MS. Howell Sasser, PhD, was named as chair of the committee.


During its business meeting, the APHA Executive Board also chose its new leadership. Linda Landesman, DrPH, MSW, was elected chair of the board and Giorgio Piccagli, PhD, MPH, was elected vice chair. …