Assassins Looks Set for Awards Haul as Fleur Du Cap Nominations List Is Released

Article excerpt


THE judges of South Africa's premier theatre awards, the Fleur Du Cap Theatre Awards, yesterday released the list of the finalists for the 2008 honours, with Assassins picking up six nominations, four of them for Fred Abrahamse, including a best director nomination.

The winners will be announced on March 8 at the Artscape Theatre and members of the public can now also vote for the People's Choice Award at

The finalists, announced by the judging panel of Mariana Malan, Marina Griebenow, Robert Greig, Wilhelm Snyman, Peter Tromp, Len Ashton, Beverley Brommert, Brent Meersman, Herman van der Westhuizen and Denise Bester are:

l Best Set Design: Fred Abrahamse, (Assassins); Jaco Bouwer, (Verkeer); Illke Louw, (Chess the Musical); and Marthinus Basson, ('n Lang Dagreis na die Nag).

l Best Lighting Design; Fahiem Bardien, (Merchant of Venice); Fahiem Bardien, (Yellowman); Fred Abrahamse, (Assassins); and Jaco Bouwer, Albert Snyman, Rudolph Van Jaarsveld, (Smag).

l Best Prop Design: Adrian Kohler, (Woyzeck on the Highveld); Fred Abrahamse, (Assassins); Melani-Rene Louwrens, (I Claudia); and Nicholas and Luke Ellenbogen, (Raiders, Rasputins's Rectangle).

l Best Costume Design: John Caviggia, (The Merchant of Venice); Marcel Meyer, (Assassins); Marthinus Basson, ('n Lang Dagreis na die Nag); and Richard de Jager, (Smag).

l Best Performance in a Cabaret or Revue: Godfrey Johnson (Flirting with Coward); Graham Weir, Christine Weir, Jason Ralph, Pierre van Heerden and Amanda Tiffin (Not the Midnight Mass); Marc Lottering (Three Wise Men); and Rocco de Villiers (One Rocco, One Piano).

l Best Performance in a Musical: Andre Jacobs (Assassins as Samuel Byck); Brennan Holder (Chess the Musical as Anatoly Sergievsky); Gina Schumuckler (Chess The Musical as Florence Vassey); and Loukmaan Adams (Ballade van Koos Sas as Koos Sas). …