2008-09 RMA Annual Conference Award Winners

Article excerpt

The Clarence R. Reed Award for Distinguished Service

Sonny B. Lyles

Executive Vice President and Chief Credit Officer

Sterling Bank

Houston, Texas

Certificates of Appreciation

Certificates are awarded in recognition of the exceptional contributions these individuals have made to RMA.

For Service as RMA Directors:

Robert C. Matthews, EVP & CCO, Commerce Bancshares, Inc, Kansas City, MO

Mary E. Sellers, VC & CRO, Bank of Hawaii, Honolulu, HI

For Service as RMA Council Chairs & Members of the Board:

Bryan Osmar, SVP, Market & Trading Credit Risk, RBC Financial Group. Toronto, ON

2008-09 Award Winners

Journalistic Excellence

The Journalistic Excellence Award Committee has selected winners from articles contributed to The RMA Journal in 2008. Awards are given for Best Single Article and Best Series.

Category One: Banker-Written Articles 1st Place

Dev Strischek, SunTrust (for two articles) "Writing a Credit Policy: Much Ado About Something" and "The Big Picture on Contractor Accounting and Construction Accountants"

2nd Place

Michael Cain, Frost Bank, "FASB and IASB Propose a Complete Change to Financial Reporting"

3rd Place

P. Henry Mueller, "Trees Don't Grow to Heaven"

Category Two: Consultant-Written Articles 1st Place

Karine Benzacar, Knowledge Plus, "Bankers Should Brace Themselves for Large-Scale Accounting Changes"

2nd Place

Martin Goldberg and Todd Pleune, Protiviti, "Identifying, Measuring, and Managing Model Risk"

3rd Place

Mark Zoeller, Zoeller Credit Risk Services, "What about Residential Appraisals?"

Category Three: Best Series

1st Place

Derek P. Pollard and Jamie Haberlen, SunTrust Bank and Environmental Data Resources, "EPA's AAI Rule" and "Environmental Due Diligence Tools"

2nd Place

Eric Holmquist, Holmquist Advisory Services, Technology Risks Series

Category Four: Spilled Milk

1st Place

Kyle Nye, (Retired), "The Case of the Disappearing Accounts Receivable"

2nd Place (tie)

Malcolm Griggs, Morgan Stanley, "Caveat Emptor" Dev Strischek, SunTrust, "Featured at the Black Lagoon"

RMA's Journalistic Excellence Committee

We are grateful to the members of RMA's Journalistic Excellence Committee, who donated many hours to judging entrants in the competition. We also thank Beverly Foster, former editor of The RMA Journal, who organized the effort.

C. Richard Bobo, American Security Bank & Trust, Hendersonville, TN

W. Kendall Chalk, The Risk Management Association, Philadelphia, PA

Frank DiLorenzo, SunTrust Bank, Miami, FL

David E. Eikner, First National Bank, Fort Collins, CO

Richard A. Hamm, Advantage Consulting & Training, Huntsville, AL

William F. Horner, Comerica Bank, Detroit, MI

Sandra W. Jansky, BB&T, Maitland, FL

Kathleen M.B. King, PNC Bank NA, Laurel, MD

MaryAnn Lawrence, KeyBank NA, Cleveland, OH

Richard K. McCrea, Fidelity Bank, Atlanta, GA

Carl A. Morita, American Savings Bank FSB, Honolulu, HI

Mark J. Oswalt, Wells Fargo, Birmingham, AL

M. Robert Rose, Brookline Bank, Brookline Village, MA

Ned Sergew, Wells Fargo, Charlotte, NC

Lori L. Shelly, Univest National Bank & Trust, Souderton, PA

2008-09 Chapter Award Winners

Paper Writing Competition

The Paper Writing Competition's main purpose is to further the financial services profession through research and sharing of experiences. By pooling our collective resources, we can provide our industry with information needed to improve the way we do our jobs, the way we serve our institutions and customers, and to better ourselves. …