2011 Fellows

Article excerpt


The College of Occupational Therapists (COT) is delighted to announce the award of three Fellowships this year, to Dr Sheena Blair, Anne Lawson-Porter and Professor Chris Mayers, and one Honorary Fellowship, to Professor Jackie Campbell. The award carries the privilege of using the letters FCOT after the Fellow's name. The awards were presented by Naomi Hankinson, Chairman of Council, at the annual conference in June.


The Fellowship Award is the highest honour that the College can bestow on a professional member of the British Association of Occupational Therapists (BAOT), in recognition of exceptional service and outstanding contribution to the profession.


Dr Sheena Blair

Sheena was a student at the Glasgow School of Occupational Therapy from 1966 to 1969 and owes a considerable debt to both Doris Sym and Caroline Henderson. As a clinician she has worked in all areas of mental health, but specialised in occupational therapy in psychodynamic practice, group work and working with older adults who had mental health problems. From her first post, she was a clinical supervisor and became a clinical tutor at the Royal Edinburgh Hospital in 1982. In 1987, she became a lecturer at Queen Margaret University and remained there as programme leader for 1 9 years. Serendipitously, she returned to Glasgow as Head of Department from 2006 to 2009 and thereby rounded off her occupational therapy career where she started. Research interests have always been in lifelong learning and she currently is programme director for the Professional Doctorate at Glasgow Caledonian University.


Anne Lawson-Porter

Anne undertook her occupational therapy education at Derby School of Occupational Therapy and obtained her diploma in 1974. She held a variety of posts in health, social care and education before taking up a post as Head of Education at COT in 2002. She left that post in 2009 and now is semi-retired but continuing to work in education, with short-term teaching contracts, projects, workshops, presentations, institutional reviews and education approval and quality assurance. Anne was awarded an Honorary Doctorate in 2010; she continues to be a member of the European Network of Occupational Therapy in Higher Education (ENOTHE) and is currently the President.


Professor Chris Mayers

Chris was appointed a Research Fellow at York St John University last summer--meaningful occupation in retirement! …