43 Students Receive Accounting Scholarship from National Society of Public Accountants Scholarship Foundation

Article excerpt

Forty-three college accounting students have been awarded scholarships by the National Society of Accountants (NSA) Scholarship Foundation for the 1999-2000 academic school year. More than 1,400 students applied for the 1999-2000 awards. Applicants were judged on scholastic achievement, demonstrated leadership ability and financial need.

The NSA Scholarship Foundation Board of Trustees awarded 16 scholarships in the amount of $500 each to students entering their second year of study, 26 scholarships in the amount of $1000 each to students entering their third or fourth year of study, and 1 renewable $2000 scholarship.

"There is a continuing and vital need to encourage students who are interested in entering our profession. NSA believes in helping people who wish to achieve their goals through education, said Donald L. Cordano, Chair of the NSA Scholarship Foundation.

Pamela Karr of Gainesville, Florida, was selected as the most outstanding student in the competition, earning special designation as the Charles H. Earp Memorial Scholar. Karr will be completing her second year of study at the University of Florida during the 1999-2000 academic year. In addition to her scholarship award, she will receive an additional $200 and a special plaque.

The Board of Trustees selected Gary Manowitz of Westbury, New York, as the 1999 recipient of the Stanley H. Stearman Scholarship Award. This award was established in 1987 in recognition of 25 years of dedicated service by retired NSA Executive Vice President Stanley H. Stearman. Candidates for this prestigious award must be the spouse, son, daughter, grandchild, niece, nephew, son- or daughter-in-law of an NSA Active, Retired or deceased Active/Retired member. Manowitz is the grandson of NSA member Robert Manowitz of Westbury, New York. He will receive a $2000 scholarship annually for a maximum of three years while pursuing accounting studies. Manowitz is a student at Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana.

The Board of Trustees also selected Rebecca Soto of Oakton, Virginia, as the 1999 recipient of the Louis and Fannie Sager Memorial Scholarship Award. This award was established in 1991 to honor retired NSA Legal Counsel, William H. Sager, the youngest son of Louis and Fannie Sager, on his tenth anniversary of service to NSA. Candidates for this award must have graduated from a Virginia public high school and be enrolled as an undergraduate at a Virginia college or university majoring in accounting. Soto will be completing her senior year at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University during the 1999-2000 academic year.

The Scholarship Fund is the result of many generous contributions from individuals, businesses, and organizations. A number of scholarships are awarded in honor or memory of these benefactors.

Students receiving scholarships for the 1999-2000 academic year are:

Alberto Aguirre, Jr., 2nd year Pierson, FL Stetson University (Aguirre's scholarship in memory of Benjamin A. Totten, Jr.)

Trisha Alexander, 2nd year Middletown, OH Miami University

Jodi Benjamin, 2nd year Langhorne, PA West Chester University

Matthew Billings, 4th year Pueblo, CO Colorado State University

Stacey Binter, 3rd year Littlestown, PA Mount Saint Mary's College (Binter's scholarship in honor of Milton Brown of Clifton, NJ)

* Heather Blum, 3rd year Bellingham, WA Brigham Young University

* Jay Boros, Jr., 3rd year Plantation, FL Universtiy of Georgia (Boro's scholarship in honor of Richard Spice Wheeler, Esq.)

Elizabeth Calimlim, 2nd year Honolulu, HI Heald College

Stalene Call, 2nd year Atoka, TN LDS Businesses College

Philoan Chau, 3rd year Escondido, CA California State University

Hiu Ling Chow, 3rd year Cambridge, MA Bentley College (Chow's scholarship in honor of Herbert H. Landy of Needham, MA)

Jennifer Davenport, 2nd year Marion, TX Texas Lutheran University (Davenport's scholarship in honor of Stephen E. …