Awards & Prizes

Article excerpt

New York's Off-Off Broadway Review distributed its OOBR Awards at a ceremony in late June. Honorees included cutting-edge productions of such well known plays as Hamlet (American Globe) and Julius Caesar (Genesis Rep) as well as unconventional fare like Screaming Venus's Word to Your Momma, written and directed by Julia Barclay, and HERE'S all-female revue Shirley Chickenpants. Golden Fleece Ltd.'s Lou Rodgers was recognized with a lifetime achievement award for his work in developing new musical works.

Chicago's Joseph Jefferson Citations--the non-union wing of the Jeff Awards--were announced in a ceremony in early June. The TimeLine Theatre led the evening, earning seven citations--six of them for Tennessee Williams's Not About Nightingales, directed by William Brown--followed by Eclipse and Lifeline Theatres, who took home five and four, respectively.

Alabama Shakespeare Festival was named Alabama Attraction of the Year by that state's bureau of tourism and travel. ASF artistic director Kent Thompson accepted the award.

The Audio Publishers Association presented L.A. Theatre Works, led by longtime producing director Susan Albert Lowenberg, with three Audie Awards for excellence in audio publishing. Productions of John Pielmeier's Agnes of God and Peter Fiebleman's Cakewalk were cited.

David Burika and Spencer Kayden were awarded Clarence Derwent Awards, recognizing the most promising performers on NYC stages. Burka is currently appearing in The Play About the Baby, and Kayden is featured in the Broadway-bound Urinetown.

Richard Kalinoski's play Beast on the Moon dominated the Moliere Awards in Paris. The play, which premiered at Actors Theatre of Louisville in 1995, rook home five awards (including best play), making it the most celebrated American play in the history of the "French Tonys."

Virginia's Mill Mountain Theatre's 2001 New Play Award, which carries a $1,000 prize, went to Jenny Laird for Lila. A staged reading of the play will feature in MMT's Norfolk Southern Festival of New Works. Stuart Warmflash's The Czar of Nothingness was the runner-up, earning the author $500.

Jack Clay, Weldon B. Durham, Tom Evans, Kristin Linklater and Mark Reese Summers are this year's inductees in the College of Fellows of the American Theatre. The College was founded in 1965 to recognize the achievements of both theatre educators and professionals.

Peter E Donnelly, president of Artsfund and Seattle's Corporate Council for the Arts, recently received two honors. …