Golf: Justin Pairs Up with Pals

Article excerpt

JUSTIN Rose has been handed an ideal highprofile draw for his US Masters debut.

Rose has been paired with close friends Adam Scott and Augusta native Charles Howell III in the opening two rounds of the first major of the year.

And the young Englishman will be in the group directly ahead of defending champion Tiger Woods as the world number one seeks an unprecedented third straight Masters title. Rose tees off at 3.33pm(BST), with Woods following 11 minutes later alongside US Amateur champion Ricky Barnes and Argentina's Angel Cabrera.

Former champion Sandy Lyle is the in the first group out at 1.10pm, with another former winner Seve Ballesteros in the next threeball.

A third former champion, 1991 winner Ian Woosnam, follows Ballesteros with Colin Montgomerie and two-time winner Jose Maria Olazabal out together at 2.05pm.

Tee-off times for the first and second round of the 67th US Masters at Augusta National tomorrow and Friday: (USA unless stated) (all times UK, tomorrow's times first) 1310 & 1555 Sandy Lyle (Sco), Charles Coody, Tommy Aaron 1321 & 1606 Seve Ballesteros (Spa), Kirk Triplett, Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spa) 1332 & 1617 Ian Woosnam (Wal), Scott Hoch, (x) George Zahringer 1343 & 1628 Ben Crenshaw, Nick Price (Zim), Fred Funk 1354 & 1639 Jeff Sluman, Scott McCarron, Steve Lowery 1405 & 1650 Jose Maria Olazabal (Spa), Colin Montgomerie (Sco), Tom Byrum 1416 & 1701 Larry Mize, Jonathan Byrd, Tim Clark (Rsa) 1427 & 1712 Gary Player (Rsa), Niclas Fasth (Swe), John Rollins 1438 & 1723 Rich Beem, Michael Campbell (Nzl), Scott Verplank 1449 & 1734 Mark O'Meara, Paul Lawrie (Sco), Loren Roberts 1500 & 1745 Jack Nicklaus, (x) Hunter Mahan, KJ Choi (Kor) 1511 & 1756 Tom Watson, Padraig Harrington (Irl), Mike Weir (Can) 1522 & 1807 Davis Love III, Shigeki Maruyama (Jpn), Rocco Mediate 1533 & 1818 Charles Howell III, Adam Scott (Aus), Justin Rose (Eng) 1544 & 1829 Tiger Woods, (x) Ricky Barnes, Angel Cabrera (Arg) 1555 & 1840 Craig Stadler, Steve Elkington (Aus), Len Mattiace 1606 & 1310 Bob Estes, Craig Parry (Aus), Jeff Maggert 1617 & 1321 Craig Perks (Nzl), Kenny Perry, Chris Riley 1628 & 1332 Ray Floyd, Billy Mayfair, Chad Campbell 1639 & 1343 Brad Faxon, Chris Di Marco, Stuart Appleby (Aus) 1650 & 1354 Fred Couples, (x) Alejandro Larrazabal (Spa), Jerry Kelly 1701 & 1405 Fuzzy Zoeller, Thomas Levet (Fra), Toru Taniguchi (Jpn) 1712 & 1416 Tom Lehman, Lee Janzen, Kevin Sutherland 1723 & 1427 Arnold Palmer, (x) Ryan Moore, Phil Tataurangi (Nzl) 1734 & 1438 Jay Haas, Eduardo Romero (Arg), Robert Allenby (Aus) 1745 & 1449 Nick Faldo (Eng), Toshi Izawa (Jpn), Justin Leonard 1756 & 1500 Vijay Singh (Fij), Retief Goosen (Rsa), John Huston 1807 & 1511 Phil Mickelson, David Toms, Peter Lonard (Aus) 1818 & 1522 Ernie Els (Rsa), Jim Furyk, Sergio Garcia (Spa) 1829 & 1533 Bernhard Langer (Ger), Darren Clarke (NIrl), David Duval 1840 & 1544 John Cook, Pat Perez, Shingo Katayama (Jpn). …