Golf: Masters Tee-Times Put Back after Rain

Article excerpt

THE persistent heavy rain which has been falling in Augusta all week has taken its toll on the Masters course, with the start of the opening day's play being put back by at least half-an-hour.

Almost an inch of rain fell during Monday's thunderstorms which forced practice rounds to be cancelled.

Greenkeeping staff have been out in force spraying a drying agent on the course, but competition committee chairman Will Nicholson said: 'The course has taken just about as much water as it can take.'

Original tee-off times for the first and second round: (USA unless stated) (all times UK, Thursday times first, although these will be subject to a delay of at least 30 minutes due to bad weather; x donates amateur) 1310 & 1555 Sandy Lyle (Sco), Charles Coody, Tommy Aaron; 1321 & 1606 Seve Ballesteros (Spa), Kirk Triplett, Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spa); 1332 & 1617 Ian Woosnam (Wal), Scott Hoch, (x) George Zahringer; 1343 & 1628 Ben Crenshaw, Nick Price (Zim), Fred Funk; 1354 & 1639 Jeff Sluman, Scott McCarron, Steve Lowery; 1405 & 1650 Jose Maria Olazabal (Spa), Colin Montgomerie (Sco), Tom Byrum; 1416 & 1701 Larry Mize, Jonathan Byrd, Tim Clark (Rsa); 1427 & 1712 Gary Player (Rsa), Niclas Fasth (Swe), John Rollins; 1438 & 1723 Rich Beem, Michael Campbell (Nzl), Scott Verplank; 1449 & 1734 Mark O'Meara, Paul Lawrie (Sco), Loren Roberts; 1500 & 1745 Jack Nicklaus, (x) Hunter Mahan, KJ Choi (Kor); 1511 & 1756 Tom Watson, Padraig Harrington (Irl), Mike Weir (Can); 1522 & 1807 Davis Love III, Shigeki Maruyama (Jpn), Rocco Mediate; 1533 & 1818 Charles Howell III, Adam Scott (Aus), Justin Rose (Eng); 1544 & 1829 Tiger Woods, (x) Ricky Barnes, Angel Cabrera (Arg); 1555 & 1840 Craig Stadler, Steve Elkington (Aus), Len Mattiace; 1606 & 1310 Bob Estes, Craig Parry (Aus), Jeff Maggert;1617&1321Craig Perks (Nzl), Kenny Perry, Chris Riley; 1628 & 1332 Ray Floyd, Billy Mayfair, Chad Campbell; 1639 & 1343 Brad Faxon, Chris Di Marco, Stuart Appleby (Aus); 1650 & 1354 Fred Couples, (x) Alejandro Larrazabal (Spa), Jerry Kelly; 1701 & 1405 Fuzzy Zoeller, Thomas Levet (Fra), Toru Taniguchi (Jpn); 1712 & 1416 Tom Lehman, Lee Janzen, Kevin Sutherland; 1723 & 1427 Arnold Palmer, (x) Ryan Moore, Phil Tataurangi (Nzl); 1734 & 1438 Jay Haas, Eduardo Romero (Arg), Robert Allenby (Aus); 1745 & 1449 Nick Faldo (Eng), Toshi Izawa (Jpn), Justin Leonard; 1756 & 1500 Vijay Singh (Fij), Retief Goosen (Rsa), John Huston; 1807 & 1511 Phil Mickelson, David Toms, Peter Lonard (Aus); 1818 & 1522 Ernie Els (Rsa), Jim Furyk, Sergio Garcia (Spa); 1829 & 1533 Bernhard Langer (Ger), Darren Clarke (NIrl), David Duval; 1840 & 1544 John Cook, Pat Perez, Shingo Katayama (Jpn)