The Following Students Have Graduated. [Derived Headline]

Article excerpt

The following students have graduated from Bethany College in Bethany, W.Va.:

BELLE VERNON: Melissa Baldwin of Belle Vernon, cum laude with a bachelor's degree in psychology

MONESSEN: Breane Minardi, bachelor's degree in history

MT. PLEASANT: Michael Sawlsville, bachelor's degree in chemistry; and Daniel Sivak, cum laude with a bachelor's degree in education

MURRYSVILLE: Nancy Hitt, bachelor's degree in psychology

NEW KENSINGTON: Robert Landowski, bachelor's degree in business administration

UNIONTOWN: Aaron Carolla, bachelor's degree in history; and Mackenzie McCune, bachelor's degree in psychology.

Robert Whitaker of New Kensington spent the summer in Guatemala on a service learning trip. He is a junior accounting major at Malone University in Canton, Ohio.

Dr. Lynn A. Botelho, a history faculty member at Indiana University of Pennsylvania, has received a Fulbright-King's College London Scholar Award, enabling her to conduct research at King's College. She arrived in the United Kingdom in September and will study there through July. She has been selected for two additional fellowships to augment her studies, the Pain Fellowship at Birkbeck University of London and the Ruth Landes Fellowship. Botelho is IUP's 62nd Fulbright recipient. She will be working on a book that will explore the nature of old age and the aging body in early modern England. Botelho, a U.S. national champion in fencing, will fence competitively in England. She is the author of six books.

Mark Simpson of Hopwood and Ryan McGowan of Harrison City received degrees from The Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta. Simpson received a master's degree in mechanical engineering and McGowan received a bachelor's degree in aerospace engineering.

Gina Lauffer, a former Greensburg resident, received the William I. Schaffer Memorial Scholarship from The Widener University School of Law when she was granted her law degree in a graduation ceremony at the Harrisburg campus. In addition, she received the American Bankruptcy Medal of Excellence, which is awarded to a student who has achieved the highest grade in a bankruptcy class.

Taylyn Fuhrman, a 2009 graduate of Greensburg Salem High School, was accepted into the Phi Kappa Phi international honor society at Salisbury University in Salisbury, Md. She is a junior majoring in art and a member of the American Institute of Graphic Arts, the Photography Club and Phi Eta Sigma.

Melanie Luker of Blairsville is enrolled at the University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg as an accounting major. The 2012 graduate of Blairsville High School was a member of the National Honor Society and the majorette squad.

Rachael Smith of Export and Jeffrey Surmacz of Irwin have graduated from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. Smith received a Bachelor of Arts degree and Surmacz received a bachelor's degree in engineering. …