2006 Asee National and Society Awards

Article excerpt

ASEE Fellows Named

The following members received the Fellow grade of membership in recognition of outstanding contributions to engineering or engineering technology education. This was conferred by ASEE's Board of Directors at the awards banquet held at the ASEE annual conference in Chicago.

Timothy Anderson

Associate Dean, Research

University of Florida-Gainesville

Cynthia Atman

Professor, Center for Engineering Learning & Teaching

University of Washington

Clive Dym

Fletcher Jones Professor of Engineering Design

Harvey Mudd College

Luther Epting

Director, Career Center

Mississippi State University

James Farison

Professor and Chair, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Baylor University

B. Keith Hodge

TVA Professor of Energy Systems & the Environment

Mississippi State University

Joseph Hughes

Professor & Associate Chair, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Georgia Institute of Technology

James L. Melsa

Dean Emeritus, College of Engineering

Iowa State University

J. P. Mohsen

Professor and Chair, Civil & Environmental Engineering

University of Louisville

Mark Pagano

Dean, Continuing Education & Conferences

Purdue University

Larry Shuman

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs & Professor of Industrial Engineering

University of Pittsburgh

David Voltmer

Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

Benjamin Garver Lamme Award

George P. "Bud" Peterson, provost at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI), received the Benjamin Garver Lamme Award recognizing his contributions as an outstanding teacher, researcher, administrator and practicing engineer. His research is widely cited and utilized by both practitioners and researchers alike. He has provided unique leadership in engineering education programs at Texas A&M University (TAMU) and RPI. In his role as provost at RPI, Peterson has been instrumental in the institutional transformation currently underway, playing a key role in improving the quality, size and diversity of the faculty and improving the diversity of the tenured/tenure-track faculty by more than doubling the number of underrepresented minorities and increasing the number of women by 40 percent. Under his leadership as provost, both the quality and size of the student body have increased significantly; programmatic offerings have expanded to include four new Ph.D. programs and four new undergraduate degree programs; and externally sponsored research awards have almost doubled. At TAMU, Peterson served as head of the department of mechanical engineering (1993-1996), executive associate dean of the College of Engineering (1996) and associate vice chancellor for the Texas A&M University System. He was awarded the Halliburton Professor of Mechanical Engineering and was named the College of Engineering's Tenneco Professor (1991).

Established in 1928, the Benjamin Garver Lamme Award recognizes excellence in teaching, contributions to research and technical literature and achievements that advance the profession of engineering college administration.

Frederick J. Berger Award

Harold L. Broberg, associate dean of the College of Engineering, Technology and Computer Science at Indiana University-Purdue University, Fort Wayne (IPFW), received the Frederick J. Berger Award in recognition of his leadership in enhancing the engineering technology curricula at IPFW. Through his innovative work, he developed a new and more effective assessment process for accreditation reviews and continual improvement; created a new M.S. in technology degree; initiated a new B.S. degree in computer engineering technology; and cemented partnerships with industrial firms throughout northeast Indiana. …