AJS Elects New Officers and Directors

Article excerpt

The Honorable John R. Tunheim, U.S. District Court Judge for the District of Minnesota, was elected to serve as President of the American Judicature Society at the Society's Annual Meeting in San Francisco on August 9.

Judge Tunheim began his legal career in private litigation practice with the St. Paul law firm Oppenheimer, Wolf, Foster, Shepard and Donnelly and was law clerk to senior U.S. District Court Judge Earl Larson in Minneapolis. He served as solicitor general for the state and manager of the Attorney General's Public Affairs Litigation Division. Prior to judicial appointment, Tunheim served as chief deputy attorney in the Minnesota Attorney General's Office for nine years.

Also elected at the meeting were the Society's officers: President-Elect Gordon L. Doerfer, Associate Justice of the Massachusetts Appeals Court (Ret.); Vice-Presidents Dennis Courtland Hayes, Interim President and CEO of the NAACP in Baltimore; and George W. Madison, Executive Vice-President and General Counsel for TIAACREF in New York. Martin H. Belsky, Dean of the University of Akron School of Law, was elected secretary; Carole Wagner Vallianos, attorney in the Law Office of Carole Wagner Vallianos in Manhattan Beach, California, was elected Treasurer. William D. Johnston, attorney with Young, Conaway, Stargatt & Taylor LLP in Wilmington, Delaware, will serve as Chair of the National Advisory Council. …