ASA Announces New and Continuing Board Leadership

Article excerpt

The American Society on Aging (ASA) is proud of and grateful to its strong cadre of dedicated members who generously serve on ASA's various boards and committees.

The ASA is pleased to announce the election of five new members to the ASA Board of Directors. Each of the following individuals has contributed greatly to the field of aging and is aligned with ASA's values and mission. The new board members are Patricia Volland, senior vice president, strategy and business development, New York Academy of Medicine (Volland will continue her current board service and fill the position of treasurer after Jed Johnson completes his term); Bob Blancato, president, Matz, Blancato & Associates; Peter Reed, president and CEO, Center for Health Improvement; Barbara Howard, director, education, MetLife Bank, Reverse Mortgage Division; and Karyne Jones, president and CEO, The National Caucus and Center on Black Aged, Inc.

These new board members, chosen by nomination of their peers, will each serve two-year terms that will begin at the end of April 201 1. The board nomination process is open to all ASA members.

The following five ASA board members will complete their terms in April 201 1 : Rona Bartelstone, senior vice president, care management, Senior Bridge Family Companies, Inc. (and ASA Healthcare and Aging Leadership Council Chair); Kathy Brandt, vice president, professional leadership consumer and caregiver services, National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization; Helen Dennis, founder of Aging, Employment & Retirement Specialists (and ASA Business Forum on Aging Leadership Council Chair); Jed Johnson, assistant vice president, Easter Seals National Headquarters (and ASA Board Treasurer); and Joann Reinhardt, associate director of research, Jewish Home Lifecare (and ASA Research Committee Chair).


The following ASA board members will continue their terms:

John Feather, executive director and CEO, American Society of Consultant Pharmacists (and ASA Board Chair)

Louis Colbert, director, Delaware County Office of Services for the Aging (and ASA Board Chair-elect)

Cynthia Stuen, senior vice president, policy, evaluation & education, Lighthouse International (and ASA Board Immediate Past Chair)

Ouida Williams, senior manager, multicultural markets, AARP (and ASA Board Secretary)

Tobi Abramson, adjunct professor, New York Institute of Technology (and ASA Awards Committee Chair)

Nicole Batsch, director, early stage programs, Alzheimer's Association Greater Illinois Chapter, Chicago

Frederic Blow, professor and senior research professor, University of Michigan (and ASA Mental Health and Aging Leadership Council Chair)

Colette Browne, professor and interim director, University of Hawaii Center on Aging, University of Hawaii

Margaret Calkins, president, I. …