2005 Asee National and Society Awards

Article excerpt

ASEE Fellows Named

The following members received the Fellow grade of membership in recognition of outstanding contributions to engineering or engineering technology education. This was conferred by ASEE's Board of Directors at the awards banquet held at the annual conference in Portland, Ore.

Adeyinka Adeyiga

Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering

Hampton University

Nicholas Altiero

Dean, College of Engineering

Tulane University

Cristina Amon

Raymond Lane Distinguished Professor

Carnegie Mellon University

Thomas Edgar

Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering

University of Texas-Austin

John Lamancusa

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Pennsylvania State University

Carl Locke Jr.

Professor, Department of Chemical & Petroleum Engineering

University of Kansas

Jack Lohmann

Associate Provost

Georgia Institute of Technology

Thomas Regan

Professor Emeritus, Department of Chemical Engineering

University of Maryland-College Park

Joseph Shaeiwitz

Associate Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering

West Virginia University

Marwan Simaan

Bell Atlantic Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

University of Pittsburgh

John Steadman

Dean, College of Engineering

University of South Alabama

Benjamin Carver Lamme Award

Paul R. Gray, Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost at the University of California-Berkeley, received the Benjamin Garver Lamme Award recognizing his exemplary contributions to electrical engineering education through the guiding and mentoring of students, research, a textbook and universitywide academic leadership. Gray is coauthor of the textbook Analysis and Design of Analog Integrated Circuits, which is considered a leading textbook in its field. It has been translated into most major languages. A leader in research on analog and mixed signal integrated circuits for 30 years, his contributions are well documented in the archival and patent literature.

Established in 1928, the Benjamin Garver Lamme Award recognizes excellence in teaching, contributions to research and technical literature, and achievements that advance the profession of engineering college administration.

Frederick J. Berger Award

John Stratton, Professor of Manufacturing and Mechanical Engineering at Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT), received the Frederick J. Berger Award for his exemplary contributions to engineering technology education and his instrumental leadership of the engineering technology programs at RIT. Stratton has served for over 35 years at RIT and has been a leader of the school's engineering technology programs for over 20 years. He was the associate dean when the electrical/mechanical engineering technology department was developed and accredited. The telecommunications engineering technology program at RIT was the first telecommunications engineering technology program accredited by the Technology Accreditation Commission (TAC/ABET) in the United States.

The Frederick J. Berger Award was established in 1990 by Frederick J. Berger, and it recognizes and encourages excellence in engineering technology education. It is presented to both an individual and a school or department for demonstrating outstanding leadership in curriculum, techniques, or administration in engineering technology education.

Chester F. Carlson Award

Sudhir I. Mehta, Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs at North Dakota State University (NDSU), received the Chester F. Carlson Award for Innovation in Engineering Education. Mehta is recognized for creating outstanding innovations in engineering education including the development, implementation, assessment, and dissemination of "Statics: The Next Generation" materials. …