Russians on Russian Music, 1880-1917: An Anthology


This anthology of Russian music criticism reveals the reactions of leading critics to new Russian music in the period 1880-1917. Tchaikovsky, Rimsky-Korsakov and Borodin were in their prime, and several new generations emerged: Rachmaninoff and Skryabin, Stravinsky and Prokoviev. Works reviewed range from In the Steppes of Central Asia and the Path¿tique Symphony to The Golden Cockerel and The Rite of Spring.

Additional information

Includes content by:
  • Stuart Campbell
Publisher: Place of publication:
  • Cambridge, England
Publication year:
  • 2003