In the Eagle's Shadow: The United States and Latin America

In the Eagle's Shadow: The United States and Latin America

In the Eagle's Shadow: The United States and Latin America

In the Eagle's Shadow: The United States and Latin America


Contents: Introduction; A New World Created; The Turbulent Era; From Naboth's Vineyard to the Big Stick; The Era of Bad Feelings; The Era of the Good Neighbour; The Death of the Good Neighbour; Years of Hope, Years of Frustration; From Cold War to New New World Order; Index.


The history of U.S.-Latin American relations reads like an epic novel. There are heroes and villains, and larger than life characters such William Walker, Smedley Bulter, Theodore Roosevelt, Fidel Castro, and Ernesto “Che” Guevara. Palace intrigues, Byzantine plots, assassinations, revolutions, and wars fill the pages. There are covert operations in which spies plot to place explosive seashells in favorite diving spots or hire hitmen to snuff out an enemy official. There are even mercenaries dropping bombs out the windows of airplanes onto presidential palaces.

Then there are tales of human beings versus nature. In the jungles, mines, and the guano fields, thousands of lives changed forever. Persons undertook massive projects to build railroads and canals through jungles, creating great achievements. Simultaneously, there are great people who dreamed of freeing others from their bondage, and dictators and elites equally as concerned with maintaining feudal systems. Everywhere society is infused with the human conditions of poverty, injustice, and inequality. In many cases, the stories seem too weird to be true. Yet, they are, and they weave together an intricate tapestry that has characterized the interaction of the United States and Latin America.

This book provides a good, concise overview of U.S.-Latin American relations. It seeks to explain in straightforward language the complexities of the important relationship between the United States and its southern neighbors. While primarily a narrative, it incorporates various interpretations from leading scholars of U.S.-Latin American relations to prompt additional investigation and discussion.


This book underscores several basic themes in U.S.-Latin American relations in order to help the reader contextualize the historical process.

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.