Belgium in War Time: Belgium in War Time

Belgium in War Time: Belgium in War Time

Belgium in War Time: Belgium in War Time

Belgium in War Time: Belgium in War Time


When Belgium was separated from Holland, to which country she had been arbitrarily united in 1814, she set up an extremely liberal Constitution.

This Constitution, promulgated on the 7th of February, 1831, made Belgium a representative monarchy, under a hereditary ruler whose title is "The King of the Belgians" ( not "the King of Belgium"; there is a distinction).

Administratively speaking, Belgium is divided into nine provinces. The province of Brabant--whose chief city, Brussels, is also the capital of the kingdom--is the heart of the organism. Around it lie the provinces of Antwerp, Limburg, Liége, Namur, Hainault, and East Flanders. The two remaining provinces-- Luxemburg and West Flanders--lie in the south-east and the north-west of the kingdom respectively.

Considered from the standpoint of its area merely, Belgium is a very small country.

Her surface measures, indeed, only 10,340 square miles, or rather less than one-eighteenth of Germany or France, her two powerful neighbours to the east and the south.

Belgium is smaller than Denmark; smaller even than Holland, her northern sister. To cross the country by rail along its greatest diameter, from Arlon to Ostend, that is, from the south-east to the north-west, requires only four or five hours.

Yet the soil of this little country presents a most remarkable variety of aspects.

To begin with, there are the mountainous, wooded Ardennes; the banks of the Meuse, with an infinite variety of wild landscapes; the fertile table-lands of Coudroy and the Sambre-et-Meuse . . .

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.