Oxford Readings in Aristophanes


Aristophanes is the only author of Greek Attic comedy whose work survives in any form beyond fragments. His eleven surviving comedies reflect the spirit of Athens in the golden age and its unique freedom of speech. This anthology brings together all the most important contributions to the study of Aristophanes; it addresses a range of subjects from the classic question of Aristophanes' relationship to contemporary politics to more modern issues such as performance context, the interaction between fifth century comedy and tragedy, and gender

Additional information

Includes content by:
  • Oliver Taplin
  • A. W. Gomme
  • G. E. M. De Ste Croix
  • Jeffrey Henderson
  • Stephen Halliwell
Publisher: Place of publication:
  • Oxford
Publication year:
  • 1996


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.