Continuance and Change: The Contemporary British Novel Sequence


This unusually perceptive study is the first to treat at length both the novel sequence as an art form and the concept of time as a vital ingredient of it. The writers and works discussed are Doris Lessing's Children of Violence,Olivia Manning's Balkan Trilogy,Lawrence Durrell's Alexandria Quartet,Anthony Burgess's Malayan Trilogy,C. P. Snow's Strangers and Brothers,and Anthony Powell's as yet uncompleted Dance to the Music of Time.

Additional information

Publisher: Place of publication:
  • Carbondale, IL
Publication year:
  • 1972


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.