Melanesia (mĕlənē´zhə, –shə), one of the three main divisions of Oceania, in the SW Pacific Ocean, NE of Australia and S of the equator. Melanesia includes the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, New Caledonia, Tuvalu, the Bismarck Archipelago, the Admiralty Islands, and Fiji. New Guinea is sometimes included in Melanesia. The Melanesians are largely of Australoid stock; they speak Malayo-Polynesian languages.

See study by H. C. Brookfield and D. Hart (1971).

The Columbia Encyclopedia, 6th ed. Copyright© 2014, The Columbia University Press.

Melanesia: Selected full-text books and articles

Crime and Custom in Savage Society
Bronislaw D.Malinowski.
Littlefield, Adams, 1959
Gender in Amazonia and Melanesia: An Exploration of the Comparative Method
Thomas A. Gregor; Donald Tuzin.
University of California Press, 2001
Melanesia and the Western Polynesian Fringe
Glynn Barratt.
University of British Columbia Press, 1990
Argonauts of the Western Pacific: An Account of Native Enterprise and Adventure in the Archipelagoes of Melanesian New Guinea
Bronislaw Malinowski.
Routledge, 2002
Masks and Men in a Melanesian Society: The Valuku or Tubuan of the Lakalai of New Britain
C. A. Valentine.
University of Kansas, 1961
Life in Lesu: The Study of a Melanesian Society in New Ireland
Clark Allan Wissler.
W.W. Norton & Co., 1933
Island Administration in the South West Pacific: Government and Reconstruction in New Caledonia, the New Hebrides, and the British Solomon Islands
Cyril S. Belshaw.
Royal Institute of International Affairs, 1950
Masters of Tradition: Consequences of Customary Land Tenure in Longana, Vanuatu
Margaret Critchlow Rodman.
University of British Columbia Press, 1987
Looking for a topic idea? Use Questia's Topic Generator


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.