Caribbean and West Indian History

Questia, your online research library and paper writing resource, contains thousands of scholarly articles and books about Caribbean and West Indian History.

Including over 7,000 islands, the Caribbean, known as the West Indies expands to all islands southeast of the Gulf of Mexico, and within the Caribbean Sea. The title “Indies,” named after the first European to venture in the island in 1492 was Christopher Columbus, who had thought he had landed in Asia. Because this region is so expansive psychographically, the West Indies is divided into three divisions to the West Indies:

Greater Antilles
– Cuba, Puerto Rico, Jamaica, Hispaniola
Lesser Antilles
– Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Montserrat, Dominica, Barbados, Grenada, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Martinique, Guadeloupe, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Antigua and Barbuda
– Trinidad and Tobago, Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao

Browse through the lists below to find the articles and books of interest to you.

Specific subcategories

Looking for a topic idea? Use Questia's Topic Generator
Author Advanced search


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.