Academic journal article Reference & User Services Quarterly

RUSA Awards, 2003

Academic journal article Reference & User Services Quarterly

RUSA Awards, 2003

Article excerpt

The RUSA Awards program recognizes outstanding achievement by members of the library profession. These awards honor librarians, publishers, libraries, and authors for significant current or past achievements such as publications, program development, and leadership in the profession. RUSA has established the following awards for which the 2003 recipients are listed.

(Virginia) Boucher-OCLC Distinguished Ill Librarian Award

An annual award consisting of $2,000 and a citation recognizing a librarian for outstanding professional achievement, leadership, and contributions to interlibrary loan and document delivery through publication, during the previous two years, of significant professional literature, participation in professional associations, and/or innovative approaches to practice in individual libraries.

Mary A. Hollerich, Associate Director for Access Services, Pritzker Legal Research Center, Northwestern University.

Dartmouth Medal

A medal that honors the creation of a reference work of outstanding quality and significance. Medal designed by Rudolph Ruzicka and donated by Dartmouth College.

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (Routledge, 1977-2002).

Dun and Bradstreet Public Librarian Support Award

Annual award of $1,000 to support the attendance at Annual Conference of a public librarian who has performed outstanding business reference service and who requires financial assistance to attend the ALA Annual Conference.

Bryce Thornton, Business Reference Assistant, Hoover Public Library, Hoover, Alabama.

Dun and Bradstreet Award For Outstanding Service to Minority Business Communities

Annual award of $2,000 (up to half of which can be used to cover expense of attending ALA Annual Conference to receive award) that recognizes one librarian who, or library that has created an innovative service for a minority business community, or has been recognized by that community as an outstanding service provider.

The New York Public Library's St. George Library Center.

Gale Group Award For Excellence in Business Librarianship

A citation and $3,000 cash award to an individual who has made a significant contribution to business librarianship.

Anne Mintz, Director of Knowledge Management with Forbes.

Gale Group Award for Excellence in Reference And Adult Library Services

Given to a library or library system for developing an imaginative and unique resource to meet patrons' reference needs.

The Richmond Public Library, Richmond, British Columbia.

Genealogical Publishing Company/History Section Award

A citation and $1,000 cash award to a librarian, library or publisher to encourage professional achievement in historical reference and research librarianship.

Charles F. Cummings, Assistant Director of the Newark Public Library, Newark, New Jersey.

(Margaret E.) Monroe Library Adult Services Award

A citation to honor a librarian who has made significant contributions to library adult services.

Miriam Pollack, Assistant Director of the North Suburban Library System, Wheeling, Illinois. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.