Academic journal article Hollins Critic

Books by Our Editors

Academic journal article Hollins Critic

Books by Our Editors

Article excerpt

In 1999 five of our editors published new books:

Kelly Cherry, The Society of Friends: This is a baker's dozen of interrelated stories in the tradition of Anderson's Winesburg, Ohio, written with Cherry's usual wit, sensitivity, and ability to reveal our lives and what we do to each other. (Columbia: University of Missouri Press, $17.95 pa.)

Amanda Cockrell, When the Horses Came: Cockrell's new novel is a mythological tale of the American Southwest, the first of a trilogy, and was compared favorably by Ursula K. LeGuin to Patrick O'Brien's sea stories, "funny, humane, [and] excellent adventures." (New York: Avon, $5.99 pa.)

R.H.W. Dillard, The Sexual Congress, a new verse translation of Aristophanes' Ecclesiasuzae in Aristophanes, 2, edited by Palmer Bowie and David R. Slavitt: Dillard's translation is an accurate (and very lively) rendering of the play, which was written before the invention of good taste. (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, $40.00; $16.95 pa.)

George Garrett, editor, The Yellow Shoe Poets, Selected Poems, 1964-1999: This collection gathers poems from all of the books of poems published by the LSU Press over the last thirty-five years, revealing the first-rate quality of the series and, by the way, featuring a number of our editors and regular contributors. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed

Oops!

An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.