European History Section

Article excerpt

The officers for the European History Section of the Association for 2006 are Georgia Mann, North Georgia College and State University, chair; Nancy Rupprecht, Middle Tennessee State University, vice-chair; T. Hunt Tooley, Austin College, immediate past chair; Joanne Rao Sanchez, St. Edwards University, second past chair; Donald M. McKale, Clemson University, Section representative to the SHA; Alice-Catherine Carls, University of Tennessee at Martin, secretary-treasurer; and David W. Hendon, Baylor University, editor of the European History Section newsletter.

Committee chairs are Johnpeter Horst Grill, Mississippi State University, 2006 Program Committee; Maura Hametz, Old Dominion University, 2007 Program Committee; Elisabeth A. Cawthon, University of Texas at Arlington, 2008 Program Committee; Philip P. Boucher, University of Alabama in Huntsville, Nominating Committee; Donna Cooper Graves, University of Tennessee at Martin, Membership Committee; Sara H. Sohmer, Texas Christian University, Parker-Schmitt-Simpson Award Committee; and Wayne Bowen, Ouachita Baptist University, Snell Prize Committee.

The European History Section has created the position of Section Historian. This is a life position with the duties to seek every year from committee chairs the documentation pertinent to their work, in order to update the Section's history, and to send at appropriate intervals all archival documents to the Southern Historical Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. June K. Burton has been named to the position.

The European History Section has also created two new prizes. The Parker-Schmitt Award will be given in odd years for the best Ph.D. dissertation in European history by a member of the Section or a graduate student or a faculty member of a southern college or university. The first award will be given in 2007. The Baker-Burton Award will be given in even years for the best first book in European history written by a member of the Section or a faculty member of a southern college or university or published by a southern press. …


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.