Academic journal article Fontes Artis Musicae


Academic journal article Fontes Artis Musicae


Article excerpt


The branch has 62 members, of which 51 are institutional members. The board has 13 members from various music libraries and institutions. The president of the branch is Ulla Ikaheimo (National Library of Finland), the vice president is Jaakko Tuohiniemi (University of Helsinki, Arts Faculty Library), and the secretary is Jyrki Valto (Kirkkonummi Public Library). Heikki Poroila (Vantaa City Library) is the treasurer outside the board.

Meetings and other activities

The most important happening this year was the 2nd Baltic-Nordic Music Library meeting held in Helsinki on August 30-31. The theme of the meeting was Music--Politics--Libraries and there were 130 participants from 8 countries. According to comments, the program was "overwhelming".

The branch visited Tallinn and the National Library of Estonia for the autumn meeting in November. The spring meeting was held in the National Audiovisual Archive (former Finnish Film Archive).

The music departments in Finnish public libraries have their 50th anniversary in 2008. The first music department was opened in Tampere City Library in 1958. To celebrate this, the branch is having a seminar in Tampere in October and publishing a book about music library work. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.