Academic journal article NBER Reporter

2011 Awards and Honors

Academic journal article NBER Reporter

2011 Awards and Honors

Article excerpt

A number of NBER researchers received honors, awards, and other forms of professional recognition during 2011 and early 2012. A list of these honors, excluding those that were bestowed by the researcher's home university and listing researchers in alphabetical order, is presented below.

John M. Abowd was elected Second Vice-president (and will be President in 2014) of the Society of Labor Economists. He was also elected Chair-elect (to be Chair in 2013) of the American Statistical Association' Business and Economic Statistics Section.

Viral V. Acharya received the 2011 Inaugural TCFA (The Chinese Finance Association) Award for the Best Paper on Global Financial Markets. The paper, "The Seeds of a Crisis: A Theory of Bank Liquidity and Risk Taking over the Business Cycle", was co-authored by Hassan Naqvi.

Douglas Almond, Joseph Doyle, Amanda Kowalski, and Heidi Williams won the Garfield Economic Impact Award and the Healthcare Cost & Utilization Project (HCUP) Outstanding Article of the Year Award for their 2010 paper, "Estimating Marginal Returns to Medical Care: Evidence from At-Risk Newborns", which was published in the Quarterly Journal of Economics.

Lee J. Alston served as Vice-President of the Economic History Association in 2010-11.

James Andreoni was elected a Fellow of the Econometric Society.

Josh Angrist won the John von Neumann Award for 2011. The award is given annually by the Rajk Laszlo College for Advanced Studies (Budapest, Hungary) to an outstanding scholar in the social sciences whose works have had substantial influence over a long period of time on the studies and intellectual activity of the students of the college.

John Asker was awarded the prize for best paper published in the previous year by the Association of Competition Economics for "A Study of the Internal Organization of a Bidding Cartel," which was published in the American Economic Review.

Orazio Attanasio has been elected Vice President of the European Economic Association. He will serve as President-Elect of the Association in 2013 and as President in 2014.

Alan Auerbach was awarded the Daniel M. Holland Medal by the National Tax Association in November 2011. The medal, first awarded in 1993, rewards outstanding contributions to the study and practice of public finance.

Malcolm Baker, Jessica Wachter, and Jeffrey Wurgler won the William F. Sharpe award for the best paper in the Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis (along with non-NBER coauthor Lubomir Litov.) Baker and Wurgler also won an Emerald Citation of Excellence Award for writing one of the top 50 highest-impact articles across 300 management publications.

Michael Baker delivered the Innis Lecture at the 2011 meetings of the Canadian Economics Association. His lecture "Universal Early Childhood Interventions: What is the Evidence Base?" was published in the Canadian Journal of Economics in 2011.

Katherine Baicker has been elected Chair of the Board of Directors of AcademyHealth. She was also elected to the Institute of Medicine.

Nathaniel Baum-Snow received the 2011 Geoffrey J.D. Hewings Award from the North American Regional Science Council. The award recognizes distinguished contributions to Regional Science research by scholars who have recently completed doctoral studies.

Lucian Bebchuk received the 2011 Award for excellence in corporate governance from the International Corporate Governance Network (ICGN). He also was elected President-Elect of the Western Economic Association International; and his paper on "Self-Fulfilling Credit Market Freezes" won a 2011 Marshal Blum prize in financial research.

Bo Becker and Victoria Ivashina were awarded the Nordea Prize for best paper on corporate finance at the European Finance Association's 2011 meeting.

Roland Benabou was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. …

Author Advanced search


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.