Academic journal article Young Adult Library Services

YALSA Announces 2013 Award Winners and Book and Media Lists

Academic journal article Young Adult Library Services

YALSA Announces 2013 Award Winners and Book and Media Lists

Article excerpt

As part of ALA's annual Youth Media Awards, YALSA announced its six literary awards at Midwinter Meeting in Seattle on January 28: the Alex, Edwards, Morris, Nonfiction, Odyssey, and Printz awards. In addition, YALSA announced the titles on its selected booklists: Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults, Best Fiction for Young Adults, Fabulous Films for Young Adults, Great Graphic Novels for Teens, Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults, and Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers. (Reproducible copies of all of the lists are available on the YALS site


Alex Awards

The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages twelve through eighteen. The winning titles are selected from the previous year's published books. The award is sponsored by the Margaret A. Edwards Trust. The 2013 winners are:

* Caring is Creepy by David Zimmerman, published by Soho Press, Inc.

* Girlchild by Tupelo Hassman, published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux

* Juvenile in Justice by Richard Ross, published by Richard Ross

* Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan, published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux

* My Friend Dahmer by Derf Backderf, published by Abrams ComicArts, an imprint of Abrams

* One Shot at Forever by Chris Ballard, published by Hyperion

* Pure by Juliana Baggott, published by Grand Central Publishing, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.

* The Round House by Louise Erdrich, published by Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

* Tell the Wolves I'm Home by Carol Rifka Brunt, published by Dial Press, an imprint of the Random House Publishing Group, a division of Random House, Inc.

* Where'd You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple, published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.

The official nominations for the 2013 Alex Awards are available online at

The 2013 Alex Awards Committee is: Chair Rachel McDonald, King County Library System Foster Library, Tukwila, Wash.; Danielle Dreger-Babbitt, Sno-Isle Regional Library (Mill Creek, Wash.); Paige Battle, Grant High School, Portland, Ore.; Kim Herrington, Pearland, Texas, Junior High West; Janet Hilbun, University of North Texas, SLIS, Denton, Texas; Kelly Jensen, Beloit Public Library, Delavan, Wis.; Jennifer Lawson, San Diego County Library; Ann Perrigo, Allegan (Mich.) District Library; Tina Pounds, Edison High School, Alexandria, Va.; Melissa Smith, Librarian Consultant, Literacy for Incarcerated Teens, Forest Hills, N.Y.; and Ann Kelley, Booklist magazine, Chicago, Ill.

Margaret A. Edwards Award

The Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature. The annual award is administered by YALSA and sponsored by School Library Journal magazine. It recognizes an author's work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and address questions about their role and importance in relationships, society, and the world.

Tamora Pierce is the recipient of the 2013 Margaret A. Edwards Award honoring her significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens for the Song of the Lioness quartet and the Protector of the Small quartet.

The four books in the Song of the Lioness series are: Manna: The First Adventure, Ix the Hand of the Goddess, The Woman Who Rides Like a Man, and Lioness Rampant, all published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing Division. The books focus on Alanna's journey to accept herself both as a woman and a warrior.

Also set in Tortall, two decades later, is the Protector of the Small quartet, First Test, Page, Squire, and Lady Knight, all published by Laurel Leaf, an imprint of Random House Children's Books. …

Author Advanced search


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.