Academic journal article American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education

Annual Report of the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education

Academic journal article American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education

Annual Report of the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education

Article excerpt

This is the 82nd annual report of the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE). This report summarizes ACPE's activities covering the period January 23, 2012 to January 21, 2013, and is available to the profession and to the general public.

In 2012, the ACPE Board and Staff successfully undertook their responsibilities and advanced various aspects of the existing strategic plan. The following highlighted the ACPE year:


(Appointing organizations in parentheses.) Officers: President--Robert S. Beardsley, RPh, PhD, Professor, Pharmaceutical Health Services Research, University of Maryland School of Pharmacy (American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, AACP); Vice President--Donna S. Wall, PharmD, BCPS, FASHP, Clinical Pharmacist, UI Health, (National Association of Boards of Pharmacy, NABP) and Secretary/Treasurer--Michael A. Mone, RPh, JD, FAPhA, Vice President Anti-Diversion & Supply Chain Integrity & Sr. Regulatory Counsel, Healthcare Supply Chain Services, Cardinal Health (NABP).

Other Board Members: Barbara G. Burch, MS, EdD, Provost Emeritus, Western Kentucky University (American Council on Education, ACE); Bruce R. Canaday, PharmD, FASHP, FAPhA, Chairman Department of Pharmacy Practice and Administration, University of the Sciences in Philadelphia (American Pharmacists Association, APhA); Stephanie F. Gardner, PharmD, EdD, Dean, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Pharmacy, (AACP); Dennis McAllister, RPh, FASHP, Director, Regulatory Affairs, Medco Health Solutions, (NABP); Anthony Provenzano, PharmD, Director, Clinical Programs, SUPERVALU[R] Pharmacies, Inc., (APhA); Victoria F. Roche, PhD, Acting Dean, School of Pharmacy and Health Professions, Creighton University, (AACP); and Timothy L. Tucker, PharmD, Owner/Partner, City Drug Company, (APhA).


The CPE Commission met at ACPE on May 10-12, 2012, and again on November 15-17, 2012. The appointed members of the Commission, the officers, and their affiliations were:

* Mary-Anne Benedict, MSN, RN (VA New England Health Care System)

* Stephen Caiola, MS (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Pharmacy)

* Janet Cline, RPh (Creative Educational Concepts, Inc.)

* Jeannine Dickerhofe, RPh, MS (Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of Colorado Department of Pharmacy)

* Shelby Englert, BBA (Senior Director of Education, American Pharmacists Association)

* Kristin Janke, PhD (University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy)

* John Clay Kirtley, PharmD (Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy)

* Jennifer Moulton, RPh (Collaborative Education Institute)

* Tina Merren Owens, PharmD, MS (Director of Continuing Education, Florida Pharmacy Association)

* Timothy Welty, PharmD, FCCP, BCPS (College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Drake University).

Board Member Anthony Provenzano was elected by his peers to serve as the ACPE Board Liaison to the CPE Commission in 2012. The Commission receives staff support from the ACPE CPE staff. Commission Officers for 2012 were Chair--Jennifer Mouton and Vice--Chair Timothy Welty.


The ACPE International Commission held its meetings at ACPE on May 7-8, 2012 and November 12-13, 2012. Members of the International Commission are as follows:

* Azza M. Agha, PhD (Faculty of Pharmacy Cairo University, Cairo, Egypt)

* Bruce R. Canaday, PharmD, FASHP, FAPhA (University of the Sciences, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA)

* Janet P. Engle, PharmD, FAPhA (University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy, USA)

* William A. Gouveia, MS, FASHP (Belmont, Massachusetts, USA)

* Patricia Acuna Johnson, MSc (Professor, University of Valparaiso Faculty of Pharmacy, Valparaiso, Chile)

* Peter J. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.