Academic journal article American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education

House of Delegates Sessions, July 11-14, 2010 Seattle, Washington

Academic journal article American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education

House of Delegates Sessions, July 11-14, 2010 Seattle, Washington

Article excerpt


Sunday, July 11,2010

1. Speaker of the House of Delegates John Pieper called the House to order at 10:00 a.m.

2. Speaker Pieper announced Lawrence M. Brown would serve as the 2010 Parliamentarian and that the Speaker, Parliamentarian and House Secretary Lucinda L. Maine were available for consultation on matters coming before the House throughout the meeting.

3. Credentials Committee Chair John Bosso reported the presence of a quorum in the report of the Credentials Committee. Two hundred and three (203) of the 228 authorized delegates were seated.

4. Speaker Pieper noted that sessions would be held according to the House Rules of Procedure and agenda contained in the rules as revised by delegates in 2007 including stipulations that a motion to amend the rules requires a majority vote of delegates present and voting and only delegates should vote on official matters coming before the House.

5. Speaker Pieper introduced the Association of Faculties of Pharmacy of Canada Immediate Past President Mike Namaka who presented an update and announced the retirement of its Executive Director, Frank Abbott. Speaker Pieper thanked Mr. Namaka for the update and congratulated Dr. Abbott, thanking him for his years of committed partnership to AACP.

6. Speaker Pieper called upon Alex Adams from the National Association of Chain Drug Stores to announce the finalists for the NACDS Preceptor of the Year Award. The finalists were:

* Barbara Bridges, Pharmacist, Osco Drug Company; Preceptor for Midwestern College of Pharmacy and Southern Illinois University Edwardsville College of Pharmacy

* Chasity Mease, Clinical Coordinator, Walgreens Patient Care Center; Preceptor, Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

* Jimmy Wilson, Pharmacist Manager, Dees Drug Store; Preceptor, University of North Carolina Eshelman School of Pharmacy

7. Speaker Pieper called upon Afton Yurkon from the National Community Pharmacists Association to announce the finalists for the NCPA Business Plan Competition. The finalists were Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy, Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and Washington State University College of Pharmacy.

8. Speaker Pieper introduced AACP President-elect Rod Carter who presented his address entitled, "Stars Aligning," accelerating progress on pharmacy practice change and broader recognition of the skills of the new American pharmacist.

9. Speaker Pieper announced the passing of the following pharmacy educators and then called for a moment of silence in their memory:

* Oscar Araujo, Professor of Pharmacy Practice, University of Florida

* Thomas Chin, University of Toronto

* Frank DiGangi, Associate Dean and Professor Emeritus, University of Minnesota

* Christopher Esslinger, Research Associate Professor, The University of Montana

* Robert Garis, Creighton University

* Ashok Gumbhir, Professor of Pharmacy Administration, University of Missouri-Kansas City

* Nathan Hall, Professor of Pharmacy, University of Washington

* Albert "Al" Haskell, Past Dean of the College of Pharmacy, University of Nebraska Medical Center

* Alain Huitric, Professor Emeritus of Medicinal Chemistry, University of Washington

* C. Richard "Dick" Hutchinson, Professor Emeritus, University of Wisconsin-Madison

* W. Greg Leader, Dean, The University of Louisiana at Monroe

* August "Gus" Lemberger, Professor and Dean Emeritus, University of Wisconsin-Madison

* Walter McCarthy, Professor Emeritus of Medicinal Chemistry, University of Washington

* Kenneth Miller, Professor of Clinical Science, California Northstate College of Pharmacy

* Joseph Morrissey, Assistant Professor, Nova Southeastern University

* Max Polinsky, Professor, University of the Pacific

* Gene Pynes, Emeritus Associate Professor, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

* Brian Russell, Instructor and CE Director, University of Rhode Island

* Joseph Sam, Associate VC Emeritus, Professor Emeritus of Medicinal Chemistry, The University of Mississippi

* Shane Scott, Past Chair and Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Midwestern University-Downers Grove

* Atul Shukla, Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, The University of Tennessee

* Larry Simonsmeier, Dean Emeritus, Washington State University

* Walter Stanaszek, Professor, The University of Oklahoma

* William Trager, Chair and Professor Emeritus, University of Washington

* William Weimar Jr. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.