Academic journal article Literacy Learning: The Middle Years

The Grace Stories

Academic journal article Literacy Learning: The Middle Years

The Grace Stories

Article excerpt

Title: The Grace stories

Author: Sofie Laguna

Publisher: Viking, published by the Penguin Group, 2013


Sofie Laguna's The Grace stories is a series of four short books combined into one volume. It aims to give young middle years readers insight into the lives of a young peasant girl from the 1800s. The story follows Grace on her journey from the city of London to Australia.

Grace is a young girl who lives with her uncle. She has to scout the river Thames for items that have fallen off ships to sell for food. Unfortunately her uncle, an ex-navy man with a bad leg, uses her items for his own purposes, leaving Grace to go hungry. She finds comfort with the carriage horses and ends up doing the unthinkable and steals apples to feed a poor starving horse, Pegasus. This leads to her being chased for theft, where she jumps on Pegasus to get away. However, this plan is foiled and she is caught, after which she is sent to jail where she makes friends with an old blind lady. They become friends until Grace appears in court, going to trial for theft not only of apples but also of a horse. The punishment for her crime is normally death by hanging; however, the judge is kind and sends her abroad.

This is where her voyage to the far off unknown land begins, her journey to Australia, with meeting new friends. The trials and tribulations that follow are scary, but a newfound friendship helps her through. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.