Academic journal article NBER Reporter

2014 Awards and Honors

Academic journal article NBER Reporter

2014 Awards and Honors

Article excerpt

A number of NBER researchers received honors, awards, and other forms of professional recognition during 2014. A list of the honors reported by these researchers, excluding those that were bestowed by the researcher's home university, is presented below.

Orley Ashenfelter was awarded an Honorary Doctorate in Economics by the Charles University in Prague.

Martha Bailey's article with Nicolas J. Duquette, "How the U.S. Fought the War on Poverty: The Economics and Politics of Funding at the Office of Economic Opportunity," Journal of Economic History, June 2014, pp. 351-88 (NBER Working Paper No. 19860), won the Arthur H. Cole Prize for year's best article published in the Journal of Economic History.

David Autor was elected a Fellow of the Econometric Society.

Alan Blinders book, "After the Music Stopped: The Financial Crisis, the Response, and the Work Ahead," London, United Kingdom: Penguin, 2013, was named by The New York Times as one of the five Best Nonfiction Books of 2013.

Jeffrey Brown was awarded the Achievement in Applied Retirement Research Award from the Retirement Income Industry Association.

Erik Brynjolfsson and his co-authors Frank MacCrory, George Westerman, and Yousef Alhammadi won the 2014 International Conference on Information Systems Award for Best Conference Paper for "Racing With and Against the Machine: Changes in Occupational Skill Composition in an Era of Rapid Technological Advance."

John Campbell received the Eugene Fama Prize for Outstanding Contributions to Doctoral Education from the University of Chicago Booth School of Business for his 1997 book, "The Econometrics of Financial Markets", which was co-authored with Andrew Lo and Craig MacKinlay.

Dennis Carlton was named the 2014 Distinguished Fellow of the Industrial Organization Society in recognition of excellence in research, education and leadership in the field of industrial organization.

John Cawley received an Investigator Award in Health Policy Research from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Janet Currie was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and began service as President of the Society of Labor Economists. She was also the 2014 Eleanor Roosevelt Fellow of the American Academy of Political and Social Science.

Angus Deaton was elected to membership in the American Philosophical Society.

Amy Finkelstein received the 2014 American Society of Health Economists Medal, a biennial award recognizing the economist age 40 or under who has made the most significant contributions to the field of health economics. She and co-authors Erzo F. P. Luttmer and Matthew J. Notowidigdo also received the 2014 Hicks-Tinbergen Award from the European Economic Association, an award that recognizes an outstanding article published during a two-year period in the Association's journal. This award was for their "What Good Is Wealth Without Health? The Effect of Health on the Marginal Utility of Consumption," Journal of the European Economic Association, January 2013, pp. 221-58 (NBER Working Paper No. 14089).

Kristin Forbes was named an external Member of the Monetary Policy Committee for the Bank of England, serving a three year term from 2014 to 2017.

Don Fullerton was named the Nannerl O. Keohane Distinguished Visiting Professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Duke University, a position that is designed "to promote inter-institutional collaboration and the enhancement of intellectual life at both universities."

Martin Gaynor was elected to the National Academy of Social Insurance.

Matthew Gentzkow received the John Bates Clark Medal from the American Economic Association, an award that honors "that American economist under the age of forty who is judged to have made the most significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge."

Robert J. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.