Academic journal article NBER Reporter


Academic journal article NBER Reporter


Article excerpt

Susan Athey was elected a vice president of die American Economic Association.

Jonathan Berk and the late Richard Green were awarded the Stephen Ross Prize, a biannual award from the Foundation for the Advancement of Research in Financial Economics for a paper in financial economics published in the last 15 years, for "Mutual Fund Flows and Performance in Rational Markets."

John Beshears, James Choi, David Laibson, and Brigitte Madrian received the TIAA Paul A. Samuelson Award for Outstanding Scholarly Writing on Lifelong Financial Security, for their paper, "Does Aggregated Returns Disclosure Increase Portfolio Risk-Taking?"

Francine D. Blau was awarded the 2017 Jacob Mincer Award by the Society of Labor Economists in recognition of lifetime contributions to the field of labor economics.

Anne C. Case was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, and the National Academy of Medicine. She and Angus Deaton received the Franklin Founder Award, recognizing excellence in a field germane to the interests of Benjamin Franklin.

Wesley Cohen received the Wiley Technology Innovation Management Distinguished Scholar Award, a lifetime achievement award conferred by the Technology Innovation Management Division of the Academy of Management.

Janet Currie received an honorary doctorate from the University of Zurich.

Stefano DellaVigna and Brian Knight, and their coauthors Ruben Durante and Eliana La Ferrara, received the American Economic Journal: Applied Economics Best Paper Prize for their paper, "Market-Based Lobbying: Evidence from Advertising Spending in Italy."

Dave Donaldson received the John Bates Clark Medal from the American Economic Association and was elected a Fellow of the Econometric Society.

Darrell Duffie and Haoxiang Zhu and their coauthor Piotr Dworczak won a 2017 Amundi Pioneer Prize from the American Finance Association, awarded annually for the top three papers in fields other than corporate finance, for their paper, "Benchmarks in Search Markets."

Mara Faccio was elected a director of the American Finance Association.

Pinelopi Goldberg was elected a vice president of the American Economic Association.

Claudia Goldin received an honorary doctorate from the European University Institute.

Gautam Gowrisankaran was awarded an honorary doctorate from the University of Oulu in Finland.

John Graham was awarded the American Taxation Association Outstanding Manuscript Award for "Tax Rates and Corporate Decision-Making," a joint paper with Michelle Hanlon and Terry Shevlin. He, Campbell R. Harvey, and their coauthors Ilia Dichev and Shiva Rajgopal also received a Graham and Dodd Scroll for their paper, "The Misrepresentation of Earnings."

Gene M. Grossman presented the Ohlin Lectures at the Stockholm School of Economics.

Rucker Johnson received an Andrew Carnegie fellowship.

Sebnem Kalemli-Ozcan was a Houblon Norman Fellow at the Bank of England and a Council of Foreign Relations International Economics Fellow.

Anil Kashyap was awarded the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon by the Emperor of Japan for his role in promoting and disseminating high-quality research on the Japanese financial system and Japan's economic policies.

Olivia S. Mitchell received an honorary doctorate from the Goethe University of Frankfurt. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.