Academic journal article The Journal of Southern History


Academic journal article The Journal of Southern History


Article excerpt

University of Alabama at Birmingham: John Van Sant appointed assistant professor, and Colin Davis on leave.

University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa: Howard Jones on leave spring 2001.

Appalachian State University: Anatoly V. Isaenko and Ren Harder Horst appointed assistant professor, Karin L. Zipf visiting assistant professor; John A. Williams on leave spring 2001; and Ruth D. Currie has retired.

University of Arkansas: Vincent Cornell appointed professor and director of Middle East Studies, Beth Schweiger and Tricia Starks assistant professor; Elliot West promoted to distinguished professor, Donald Engels to professor; and Charles Robinson's rank has been changed to assistant professor.

University of Arkansas at Little Rock: Johanna Miller Lewis and James W. Miller promoted to professor; Michelle M. Fontaine on leave 200-2001; and Charles R. Bowlus has retired.

Arkansas Tech University: James L. Moses, Carey M. Roberts, and Jeffrey R. Woods appointed assistant professor; and Thomas E. DeBlack promoted to associate professor.

Auburn University: Kenneth Noe appointed Ralph B. Draughon Professor of Southern History, and James Lee McDonough has retired.

Berea College: Lori Brooks appointed assistant professor; and Cleophus Charles and D. Warren Lambert have retired.

Bluefield College: David M. Armbrister has retired.

Bowling Green University: Donald Nieman named dean of arts and sciences.

University of Delaware: Erica R. Armstrong, Barry Joyce, and Owen C. White appointed assistant professor.

University of Florida: Ronald Formisano named University Foundation Research Professor; Angel Kwolek-Folland appointed associate professor and named director of women's studies, Daryl Scott associate professor and director of African American studies, Alaejandra Bronfman, Elizabeth Dale, Jessica Harland-Jacobs, Alan Petigny assistant professors; Louise Newman and Jon Sensbach promoted to associate professor; and Geoffrey Giles, Maria Todorova, and Robert Zieger on leave.

Florida State University: Richard L. Greaves on leave fall 2000; and Darrell Levi and Ralph V. Turner have retired.

Floyd College: T. Ralph Peters promoted to professor and Laura G. Musselwhite to associate professor.

Georgia College and State University: Anne Bailey appointed editor of the Georgia Historical Quarterly and Birgit Schaebler assistant professor.

Georgia Southern University: Donald A. Rakestraw and Craig H. Roell promoted to professor, and Alan C. Downs to associate professor.

Jacksonville State University: George M. Lauderbaugh appointed assistant professor.

University of Kentucky: Karen Petrone promoted to associate professor; Lance Banning, Joanne Melish and Jeremy D. Popkin on leave 2000-2001, George Herring on leave spring 2001; and E. Randy Daniel has retired.

University of Louisville: Wayne E. Lee appointed assistant professor, Pamela M. Beattie and Edward Rademaker visiting assistant professor; Ann T. Allen on leave 2000-2001, Robert B. Kebric on leave fall 2000, and Bruce M. Tyler on leave spring 2001.

Marshall University: Montserrat M. Miller promoted to associate professor.

Maryville College: Nancy L. Locklin appointed assistant professor.

University of Mississippi: Joseph P. Ward appointed assistant professor; and Michael de L. Landon and Jackson Taylor Jr. have retired.

University of Missouri-Columbia: Steven Watts named chair; Catherine Rymph appointed assistant professor; John Wigger promoted to associate professor; John Bullion, Mary Neth, Mark Smith, and Charles Timberlake on leave 2000-2001; and Gerard Clarfield has retired.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Judith M. Bennett named Martha Nell Hardy Distinguished Professor and on leave 2000-2001; Kathryn J. Burns appointed assistant professor; Charles H. Capper and Keith Wailoo promoted to professor; John C. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.