Academic journal article The Journal of Southern History

Historical News and Notices

Academic journal article The Journal of Southern History

Historical News and Notices

Article excerpt


Nominations for 2001: The 2000 Nominating Committee, consisting of Linda Reed of the University of Houston, chair; Vernon O. Burton of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Raymond Gavins of Duke University, Glenda E. Gilmore of Yale University, and Mary A. Giunta, National Historical Publications and Records Commission, made the following nominations for 2001:

FOR VICE PRESIDENT: Darlene Clark Hine

FOR THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL: Pete Daniel Harriet Amos Doss F. Bullitt Lowry

Darlene Clark Hine, nominee for vice president, is the John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor of History at Michigan State University. Among her numerous publications are: Speak Truth to Power: Black Professional Class in United States History (Brooklyn, N.Y., 1996); Black Women in White: Racial Conflict and Cooperation in the Nursing Profession, 1890-1950 (Bloomington, Ind., 1989); and Black Victory: The Rise and Fall of the White Primary in Texas (Millwood, N.Y., 1979). Professor Hine has been a participant at the SHA almost consecutively since 1979; she has chaired both the Program Committee and the Committee on Women in the SHA and has served on the Executive Council and the Nominating Committee. She is the incoming president of the Organization of American Historians. Pete Daniel, nominee for Executive Council, is a curator at the National Museum of American History, Smithsonian Institution, and is the author of Breaking the Land: The Transformation of Cotton, Tobacco, and Rice Cultures since 1880 (Urbana, Ill., 1985); Standing at the Crossroads: Southern Life in the Twentieth Century (New York, 1986); and Lost Revolutions: The South in the 1950s (Chapel Hill, 2000). Dr. Daniel has presented, commented, and presided at SHA sessions and also served on the Membership Committee, Executive Council, Program Committee, Mitchell Award Committee, and Nominating Committee. Harriet Amos Doss, nominee for the Executive Council, is an associate professor of history at the University of Alabama at Birmingham and author of Cotton City: Urban Development in Antebellum Mobile (Tuscaloosa, 1985). She has participated in SHA sessions and served on the Membership Committee. F. Bullitt Lowry, nominee for the Executive Council, is a professor of history at the University of North Texas and author of Armistice 1918 (Kent, Ohio, 1996). He has participated in SHA sessions and served on the Local Arrangements Committee and the Executive Council. He has also served as chair of the European History Section of the SHA and managing editor of the European History Newsletter.

In accordance with Article IX of the Southern Historical Association's constitution, these nominations become effective following the SHA annual meeting, unless fifty members present a petition by September 1, 2001, and accompany it with evidence that their nominees are willing to stand for election. If such a petition is presented, the secretary-treasurer will mail an official ballot by September 21, which will indicate which persons have been nominated by petition. These ballots must be returned to the chair of the Nominating Committee by October 20, and he or she shall report the results to the secretary-treasurer by November 1. For further details, see Article IX of the constitution printed in the August 1989 (LV, 449-59) issue of the Journal of Southern History or on the SHA website.

The 2001 Nominating Committee requests suggestions from the Association's members for the office of vice president and members of the executive council. Suggestions should be made in the form of a letter of recommendation detailing the significance of the individual's scholarship and service to the profession and the Association. If possible, please enclose a curriculum vitae. Recommendations should be sent to Raymond Gavins, Nominating Committee Chair, Department of History, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina 27708.

Article IX, Section 1, of the SHA Constitution specifies that the Nominating Committee of five members shall be appointed by the Executive Council: "The three second-year, elected members of the Council shall constitute a Council subcommittee, and shall prepare a list of at least eight names of Association members for consideration by the whole Council in its selection of the Nominating Committee. …

Author Advanced search


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.