Academic journal article The Journal of Southern History

The Association. (Historical News and Notices)

Academic journal article The Journal of Southern History

The Association. (Historical News and Notices)

Article excerpt

The sixty-ninth meeting of the Southern Historical Association will be held November 6-9, 2003, at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Houston. The meeting will begin on Thursday and end on Sunday, which is a deviation from our regular Wednesday-to-Saturday meeting pattern.

At the close of sixty-eighth meeting in Baltimore, on November 9, 2002, Darlene Clark Hine of Michigan State University succeeded Jacquelyn Dowd Hall of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as president. Since there were no additional nominations, those proposed by last year's Nominating Committee and published in the May 2002 issue of the Journal were declared elected:

      Wayne Flynt, Auburn University

   EXECUTIVE COUNCIL MEMBERS, for three-year terms expiring in 2005:
      Leon F. Litwack, University of California, Berkeley
      Clarence L. Mohr, University of South Alabama
      Marjorie Julian Spruill, Vanderbilt University

At its meeting on November 6, 2002, the Executive Council approved the nominations of W. Fitzhugh Brundage of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Michele Gillespie of Wake Forest University for four-year terms on the Board of Editors of the Journal of Southern History.

The Executive Council elected the following to serve as the Nominating Committee for 2003: Jane G. Landers, Vanderbilt University, chair; Richard J. M. Blackett, Vanderbilt University; Charles W. Eagles, University of Mississippi; Thavolia Glymph, Duke University; and Patricia A. Sullivan, Harvard University.

President Darlene Clark Hine appointed the following Program Committee for the 2003 annual meeting of the Association, which will be held in Houston on November 6-9, 2003: Steven F. Lawson and Nancy A. Hewitt, Rutgers University, co-chairs; Victoria E. Bynum, Southwest Texas State University; Alexander X. Byrd, Rice University; Lesley J. Gordon, University of Akron; Stanley C. Harrold, South Carolina State University; Phyllis W. Hunter, University of North Carolina at Greensboro; Chana Kai Lee, University of Georgia; Alex Lichtenstein, Rice University; Georgia A. Mann, North Georgia College and State University; F. Andrew McMichael, Western Kentucky University; David Montejano, University of Texas at Austin; Kathryn Nasstrom, University of San Francisco; Bruce A. Ragsdale, Federal Judicial Center; Larry E. Rivers, Florida A&M University; and Barbara Savage, University of Pennsylvania.

President Darlene Clark Hine has appointed the following to serve on the Membership Committee for 2003: Glenn T. Eskew, Georgia State University, chair; Rod Andrew Jr., Clemson University; Elizabeth Bailey, Austin Community College; S. Jonathan Bass, Samford University; Christopher A. Blackburn, University of Louisiana at Monroe; Beverly G. Bond, University of Memphis; Bradley G. Bond, University of Southern Mississippi; Jennifer E. Brooks, Tusculum College; Frank J. Byrne, State University of New York at Oswego; Gavin J. Campbell, Doshisha University, Japan; Peter S. Carmichael, University of North Carolina at Greensboro; David C. Carter, Auburn University; Paul A. Cimbala, Fordham University; A. Glenn Crothers, Indiana University Southeast; Bobby J. Donaldson, University of South Carolina; Stephen D. Engle, Florida Atlantic University; Daniel Feller, University of New Mexico; Lee W. Formwalt, Organization of American Historians; Andrew K. Frank, California State University, Los Angeles; David T. Gleeson, University of Charleston; Lorri Glover, University of Tennessee at Knoxville; L. Virginia Gould, Tulane University; Gordon E. Harvey, H-Net; Paul Harvey, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs; Judith Jennings, University of Louisville; Bethany L. Johnson, Journal of Southern History; Brian Kelly, Queen's University, Belfast; Daniel P. Kilbride, John Carroll University; David J. Libby, San Antonio, Texas; Michael S. Mayer, University of Montana; Susan M. McGrath, Georgia Perimeter College; Michael A. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.