Academic journal article Political Research Quarterly

Western Political Science Association

Academic journal article Political Research Quarterly

Western Political Science Association

Article excerpt

WPSA March 2008 Meeting

The March 2008 meeting of the Western Political Science Association (WPSA) will be held at the Manchester Grand Hyatt Hotel in San Diego, California. Andrea Simpson, University of Richmond, is serving as program chair for this meeting. Local arrangements co-chairs are Noelle Norton, University of San Diego, and Barbara Morris, University of Redlands. Information regarding the conference, its theme, and the section chairs was recently mailed to all WPSA members. The information is also available on the WPSA website:

Recipients of 2007 WPSA Awards

The following WPSA awards were presented by the Association at the 2007 Annual Meeting held in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The Pi Sigma Alpha Award for the best paper given at the 2006 Annual Meeting of the WPSA was awarded to Professor Sarah Fulton, Texas A&M University, for her paper, "The Impact of Gender on Assessments of Political Quality."

The Dissertation Award was given to Dr. Leo Blanken, for his dissertation, "Rational Empires: An Institutional Theory of Imperial Expansion," completed at the University of California, Davis.

The award for the best paper on Blacks and Politics was given to Professor Andrea Simpson, University of Richmond, for her paper, "Controlling Women: Intersectionality, Leadership, and the Environmental Justice Movement."

The Betty Nesvold Award for the best paper on Women and Politics was given to Professor Christine Keating, Ohio State University, for her paper, "Framing the Postcolonial Sexual Contract: Democracy, Fraternity, and State Authority in India."

The award for the best paper on Latina/Latino Politics was given jointly to: Victoria DeFrancesco Soto, Duke University, for her paper, "Do Latinos Party All the Time? The Role of Shared Ethnic Group Heuristics in Political Choice;" and co-authors Matt Barreto, University of Washington and Adrian Pantoja, Pitzer College, for their paper, "Politics and Religion in the Schoolhouse: Latino Religiosity and Attitudes Toward Education Policies."

The Charles Redd award for the best paper on the politics of the American West was given to Jason Casellas, University of Texas at Austin, for his paper, "The Election of Minorities to State Legislatures and Congress."

The award for the best article published in Political Research Quarterly during the previous calendar year was given to Professor S. Laurel Weldon, Purdue University, for her March 2006 PRQ article, "Women's Movements, Identity Politics, and Policy Impacts: A Study of Policies on Violence against Women in the 50 United States."

Submissions for 2008 WPSA Awards

Instructions and deadlines for paper submissions for 2008 WPSA awards may be found on the WPSA website. Please note that the deadlines for most awards are set for June 15, 2007.

WPSA Nominations

The WPSA Committee on Nominations requests that nominations be submitted for the following WPSA officer positions:

* Vice President: to serve as program chair 2010 annual meeting (San Francisco). This individual will serve as WPSA president for 2010-2011, subsequent to service as program chair.

* Four members of the Executive Council: two from Region A (California); one from Region B (Arizona, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Utah); and one from Region C (Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington, Wyoming, British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan). …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.