Academic journal article The Beethoven Newsletter

Selected New Books

Academic journal article The Beethoven Newsletter

Selected New Books

Article excerpt

1889-1989 Verein Beethoven-Haus. Bonn: Beethoven-Haus, 1989. 144 pp. $32.

Commemorates the one hundredth anniversary of the Beethoven-Haus, with essays by Paul Egon Hübinger (on the establishment of the Verein Beethoven-Haus); Rainer Cadenbach (on Joseph Joachim's programs for the Bonn chamber music festivals from 1890 to 1907); Michael Ladenburger (on the festivals since 1909 in the era after Joachim); Siegfried Kross (on Ludwig Schiedermair); Sieghard Brandenburg (on the Beethoven-Haus collection); and Udo Mainzer (on the new building for the Beethoven-Archiv and the chamber music hall).

Beethoven, Ludwig van. Grande Sonate Pour le Piano Forte Oeuvre XXII Peer, Belgium: Alamire, 1990. 23 pp. of music. $9.

Facsimile of the first edition of the B-flat Major sonata, Opus 22, originally published by Hoffmeister in 1802, from a copy in the Royal Music Conservatory, Baissels. (See the title page reproduced on p. 81.)

Beethoven, Ludwig van. The 32 Piano Sonatas in Reprints of the First and Early Editions, Principally Front the Anthony van Hoboken Collection of the Austrian National Library. With prefaces by Brian Jeffery. London: Tecla Editions, 1989. $210 case or 5-vol. pbk./$265 cloth-bound.

Includes twenty-seven individual facsimiles, as issued in Beethoven's time. Also available separately ($5.70$19 each). A full review of this publication will appear in a forthcoming issue of The Beethoven Newsletter. (See also the review by Jacob Lateiner in NOTES 47 [1991], pp. 1285-1287.)

Beethoven, Ludwig van. Zwei Romanzen für Violine und Orchester op. 40 und 50. With piano arrangement by Willy Hess. Winterthur, Switzerland: Amadeus, 1990. 1 score ([30], 15 pp.) and 1 part. $39.

Facsimiles of the autograph manuscripts for Opus 40 (Sammlung Beethoven-Haus 533) and Opus 50 (Library of Congress Census 241). With introduction by Hess in German and English.

Beethoven, Ludwig van. Three Bagatelles. Transcribed and edited by Barry Cooper. London: Novello, 1991. 10 pp.

Compilations and transcriptions of Beethoven's 1822 sketches for three bagatelles, published here in performable versions. Includes sketches from SBH 631 (SV 88) and SBH 634 (SV 90), the latter being a variant version of "Für Elise," WoO 59. Includes Cooper's introduction and critical notes in English, French, German, and Italian.

Beethoven's Compositional Process. Edited by William Kinderman. Volume 1 of North American Beethoven Studies (Published by the University of Nebraska Press, in association with the American Beethoven Society and the Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies). Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1991. 195 pp. $45.

The first volume of a new series of Beethoven studies. The essays in this volume were first presented at a symposium on Beethoven's orchestral music held at the University of Victoria, Canada, in May 1986. Contributors include Geoffrey Block ("Organic relations in Beethoven's early piano concerti and the 'Spirit of Mozart'"), William E. Caplin ("Structural expansion in Beethoven's symphonic forms"), Barry Cooper ("Sketches for Beethoven's Egmont Overture"), William Drabkin ("Beethoven's understanding of 'sonata form': The evidence of the sketchbooks" and "The Agnus dei of Beethoven's Missa solemnis: The growth of its form"), Richard Kramer ("The sketch itself), William Kinderman ("Compositional phases and analysis" and "Beethoven's compositional models for the Choral Finale of the Ninth Symphony"), Lewis Lockwood ( "The Beethoven Sketchbooks and the general state of sketch research" and "The compositional genesis of the Eroica Finale"), and William Meredith ("Forming the new from the old: Beethoven's use of variation in the Fifth Symphony").

Benton, Rita. Pteyel as Music Publisher: a Documentary Sourcebook of Early 19th-century Music. With Jeanne Halley. Annotated Reference Tools in Music; 3. Stuyvesant, NY: Pendragon, 1990. 398 pp. $94.

Catalog of all works published by Ignaz Joseph Pleyel (1757-183D, with a history of the firm and brief bibliography. …

Author Advanced search


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.